...and besides, it would pack a wallop

2001-06-28

In the past 16 hours, I have heard Queen's 'Fat-Bottomed Girls' twice on the radio. Is it a sign? And if so, of what?

Let me tell you something about myself: I'm a foolish person. There is lots of evidence for this, but one particular piece of evidence I can present at this time (exhibit A) is that when I pull to the side of the road for an emergency vehicle (today it was the cops), I feel very proud to be living in a society. I always feel that something is going right when people who are inherently selfish (I'm referring to all of us now, because you know we are) will voluntarily give the right of way to emergency personnel. Never mind that it's the law, because people break the law all the time. I would like to think that the good and generous side of people comes out when emergency vehicles need some room. That's my story and I'm sticking with it.

This week I have eaten the exact same thing for breakfast and lunch every day (with the exception of today when a banana is pinch hitting for string cheese). I have a waffle with a tbsp of peanut butter for breakfast, with coffee, on the way to work. At about 11:00 I have exactly 6 ounces of carrots--no more, no less. Around 12:30 it's 1/2 cup of baked beans; at 2-ish a string cheese (or banana); and at 4:00 an apple. I'm not intentionally being compulsive about it, but it's just easier to eat the same thing every day when you know exactly how many calories and fiber grams the food contains. And it's working for me, because I'm finally losing a few pounds, so ain't nobody gonna mess with the rooster. I have no idea what that means but I like the way it sounds.

I went at lunch to the other mall within lunchtime driving distance (yesterday it was the south mall; today the north). I looked for skull rings again, more for something to do than out of any real urgency. I found some at Spencer's, but they are all the real large ones, so I struck out again. I don't understand why people who make rings don't understand that it's not only large-fingered motorcycle gang members who want to wear skull rings. The smaller-fingered among us deserve them too. I really can't explain why I want a skull ring so much, but I think it has something to do with knowing my outward appearance does not generally match with my inner self. This is especially true at work, because if you have a job like I do where you have to see lots of people and make a positive impression on them (that last thing is key), you can't be walking around with pretty purple hair and pierced eyebrows. Which is not to say that *I* would have a negative impression of someone with purple hair and pierced eyebrows, but there are a Lot of people in the world who would. Since I need to make-a the money right now, I have to suppress the urge for technicolor hair, etc. But I bet I could get away with a skull ring, and the contrast between my professional little self and a wicked chunky silver skull ring would do my heart good. I think I'm going to have to attend a Harley convention, because you know they'll have more selection in skull rings and sizes.

I'm out of material now, and I'm still real busy at work, so ciao darlings; talk to you later.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify