to pierce or not to pierce

2001-06-27

I am a freak no longer. The haircut is good--long live the haircut!

I was so stressed out this morning at work. I won't go into why (because it's boring) but my stomach was in knots. I forced myself to leave the office at lunch to do an errand, even though I wanted to stay at my desk and work on the stuff that's stressing me. I went to the mall and got some shampoo I've been needing (the shampoo is hard to find; not everyone has it), and while I was there I decided to see if I could find a silver skull ring, because I really want one. I knew the odds were slim, but one store actually had some. It is a store that sells lots of body jewelry and in fact has a body piercer on the premises. I looked at the small selection of skull rings and all of them were Way too big. The one I liked best was so large I don't even think it would even fit most men. But I got into the best conversation with the girl who was working there. She was about 17, I estimate, and I asked her about navel piercings, and do they really hurt as much as people say they do. She thinks not. She has her navel and tongue pierced and says that navel was far less painful (this I could have assumed) and it didn't hurt much when it was healing. We talked about piercings and tattoos and whatnot, and I really enjoyed talking to her. A lot of girls her age would have given me that "I'm so much hipper than you" attitude, and that would have sucked. Anyway, the upshot is that I'm now thinking about getting my navel pierced, because I really love some of the jewelry they had for navels. Hmmm. Anyone have their navel pierced and want to weigh in on the pain issue? I would love to hear any and all opinions--my guestbook is your guestbook. I'm not a huge pain baby--I was able to get my tattoo and it's not small--but I'm not sure I could take anything that hurts worse than the tattoo.

We have a bird at our house that gives us wake-up calls. I don't know what kind of bird it is, but it begins chirping outside, nearish the bedroom window, at approximately 4:50 every morning. The alarm clocks go off at 5:00, but the bird is handy because if I wake up and he's not chirping, I know I have more than 10 or 15 minutes to sleep. If I wake up and he's chirping, though, I know not to bother trying to sleep anymore.

We went to the gym this morning and I actually ran a little on the treadmill again. But again, I could only go about 7 minutes before my left knee was really hurting, so I mostly just walked. I always feel inordinately proud of myself for running, even a little, because I dislike it so much. Clipboard man was at the gym, and he smiled at me. I smiled back but did not attempt conversation because as you know, I prefer to keep intact the personality I've made up for him. There was this other guy there who I'm calling Watchcap Man, because he always wears one of those Baretta-style knit caps when he exercises. Even now when it's hot as hell, he's wearing the watchcap (and a sweatshirt). My theory is that he was a wrestler in high school and never got out of the habit of wearing too many clothes when exercising, because you know how wrestlers are always trying to sweat off a few pounds. Also I believe he's s little bald, so maybe that's part of the cap thing. I love to observe the gym people; they make exercise a lot more fun.

There are two cds I want. 1) Rufus Wainwright's 'Poses', and 2) The previously mentioned 'O Brother Where Art Thou' soundtrack. That is all.

Signing off for now, chickies. Talk to you tomorrow...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify