champagne wishes and chicken bone dreams

2001-06-20

Here's the latest in my series of inappropriate objects choked on in my dreams--a chicken bone (a leg). I woke up early this morning from the chicken bone dream and kind of coughed and choked and then said, "oh NO". Francisco woke up enough to say, "what?", at which point I told him I had a chicken bone lodged in my throat. He went back to sleep (he knows better than to believe anything is in my throat) and I got up to use the bathroom and it was only when I was coming back to bed that I realized there was no chicken bone. I guess I had decided I could live with it or something. These dreams have grown tiresome, let me tell you.

I am spending a lot of time recently saying (usually in a whisper), "Come on Shelley." Anyone who watches MadTV will understand; anyone who doesn't will just think I'm stupid. But just so you know, I am very good at saying "come on Shelley" just like the guy who says it on MadTV--I am a gifted mimic. I named my work computer Shelley because it can be rather slow and it gives me an excuse to say "come on Shelley...come on". I'm not stupid, I'm just easily amused.

Actually, let me tell you who IS stupid: The people running the writing workshop The Boy has been forced to attend this week. First of all we cannot count on the bus to pick Boy up as it is supposed to. The first day it didn't come, so Francisco took him to the school. The second day it picked him up so we thought that was setting a precedent for the rest of the week, but no. Today it did not come, and Francisco had to drive him again. It's not THAT far, but it's the principle of the thing. If a bus is supposed to pick him up then it should pick him up. Another reason the people running the writing shindig are stupid is that they have breakfast for the children in the mornings, and they SERVE THEM SUGAR. The typical breakfast has been sweet rolls, but they have also offered Pop Tarts and Cocoa-Puffs. The children attending the writing workshop are children who did not meet the school's standards on the writing test. These are children who need some extra assistance with writing, so why the hell are they being served sugar that will run rampant in their bodies and make their attention wander? I didn't know the school would serve breakfast so Boy ate at home on Monday and since then I forbade him to eat any of that school breakfast. That school really steams my beans.

This morning I read an article about how some people think in colors. It was fascinating--some people's brains translate numbers, musical notes, and days of the week into colors, and it's just a whole different way of thinking. The brain is so cool, I love it. Another brain thing that fascinates me is Tourrette's Syndrome. I don't mean to be insensitive to people with Tourrette's when I say that, because it's not like I think of them as freaks or anything; it's just interesting. I saw a documentary about Tourette's several years ago and since then I have been hoping to meet someone with it, but to my knowledge I haven't. Actually there is someone I kind of know now who I suspect of having it, but it's not like I can ask. If I asked and he said no, that would be mortifying; for both of us.

Right now I am thoroughly sick of rock music. I don't know what it is, whether it's induced by massive job stress or pms, but I can't stand listening to rock music for even a minute. This includes my beloved alternative music. Maybe I've reached saturation level with the songs they play over and over and over again on the radio, or maybe it's just the fear that I will have to hear one more U2 song [I hate U2 and I hate that they haven't grown out of using that annoying 'jingle-jangle' background sound. If they had, maybe I could like them]. Whatever it is, I'm off the rock music for now--I'm sticking with classical, international, and jazz. And the news on NPR--I'm loving NPR lately. If anyone has suggestions of good rock bands for me to check out, preferably ones getting little or no air play, please let me know.

I think I'm just about done here for now. Does anyone have any issues they'd like to discuss? Anyone? Let me know...

Love to all,

E

PS I am exTREMEly tempted to give out my work phone number so that anyone who wants to can call me and I can say "Come on Shelley" to them, but I'm too afraid to do it. I think it would be okay except for the one weirdo who would inevitably start calling me 20 times a day just to chat. That one weirdo is ruining it for everyone; it's sad. If anyone would like to email me their phone numbers I would be glad to call them to say "Come on Shelley", and even as I'm typing this I'm thinking how ridiculous it is to imagine someone would WANT to hear me say "Come on Shelley" to them. I am mentally unwell--forgive please. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify