The Tribe Has Spoken

2001-06-12

Remember Poopypanu? This morning Francisco, the Boy and I had a collective brainstorm that we would each take on the surname (not legally of course) of Poopypanu, since we do not all have the same last name. It was decided that we would call ourselves the Tribe of Poopypanu, and it's cool because now our little habits can become customs. Like, "The Poopypanu tribe eats dinner at the coffee table while watching The Simpsons--it is just their way", or "The Poopypanus disdain orange juice; do not question their ancient wisdom". I think this is going to be a lot of fun. Huzzah!

Not a lot to talk about today. Last night I read some magazines and did the dishes and had dinner, and that's about it. Lucy loved me aggressively last night, since she is still so happy we're back after our DC trip. Her love is welcome, naturally, but she is kind of a nudge. She can't just cuddle, she has to be rubbing on me and walking on my reading material, and--worst of all--stinkying me. You know how cats rub their faces on things and people, symbolically marking their territory? I think most cats have scent glands on their cheeks, but most do not seem to actually produce anything. Not so with Lucy; her scent glands work, and she will mark us with her stinkyness, and it is rather unpleasant. Last week she was sitting on my pillow, kind of leaning over me in a vulture-like manner, and I reached back and scratched her ears, and she drooled and a drop of her saliva fell onto my forehead. And damn, that was some stinky saliva. I told her she was a gross, gross cat, and she just purred. She is much more catty than Esther--Esther is kind of like a dog in cat form. And Esther is a good smelling cat; even Boy says so.

The Boy is doing a YMCA daycamp this week, and he likes it. He says the kids at camp are nicer than the kids at school, which is a good thing, but it makes me wonder if kids at school tease him and he just never lets on. Hmmm, I'll have to quiz him about that. Next week he is slated to do a writing workshop at school because he did not score at a certain level in the end of grade writing test. It puzzles me a little because he scored above grade level in reading, and even at grade level in math (which he hates and has trouble with). He dislikes writing and I think it's because he has trouble with focus and with organizing his thoughts; very important things when writing a story. Anywho, next week should be torturous for the poor guy; I will have to be extra sweet to him.

I have been such a good sleeper lately. Not every night, but most nights I fall asleep without laying awake for very long, and I am able to go back to sleep when I wake up during the night. Many people would wonder what is so special about these things, but sleeping well has not always happened for me, and therefore it is cause for rejoicing. I feel very sorry for insomniacs, because not sleeping sucks. I wish I could remember my dreams from last night, because they were good.

I think I am allergic to pork, or at least I am pork intolerant--something like that--because pretty much every time I eat pork (except bacon), it causes beaucoup intestinal distress, and pretty darn quickly. I poked around on the web, looking for info on pork allergies, and did not find much helpful information, except that some people are allergic to pork. Anyone know where I can get some basic info? Thanks, you're a peach.

Pardon me, but I must go see a man about a horse. Later, my little junebugs.

Love,

E

PS The junebug thing made me remember to say that the lightning bugs are out in the evenings now, and I love them. That is all. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify