one Diet Mountain Dew short of a case

2001-06-01

I really don't feel like updating today, I don't know why. I love this diary and I love diaryland, but I'm just not in the mood.

Other Things I Love Besides Diaryland, by Tattoobelly

@ Red Oak Lager

@ birds

@ Metropolitan Home magazine

@ lemonheads

@ thunder when I'm at work (the power might go out and maybe we could go home)

@ marabou

@ what is marabou, anyway?

@ Fridays

@ sleeping in

@ Hearts (the card game, not the organ)

@ Diet Mountain Dew (yee-haw!)

Oy, I haven't been sleeping well.

Here's a thing. On Wednesday the Boy brought home a picture he'd made at school, which thoughtfully incorporated my current favorite color, orange. To me from him was written on, and it was quite nice and I thanked him and was grateful and hung it on the bulletin board in a place of honor. Francisco came up behind me when I was hanging it and whispered, "He told me it was a late Mother's Day gift". I misted up; I'm such a sap.

I'm starting to catch up at work. I've been a terrible slacker for the last couple weeks, but yesterday I decided that I would be better. My exact thought was, "Okay, for better or worse this IS my job, and I'm going to do the Hell out of it." And I am. So far. I'll let you know how it goes.

This morning when I went to the gym there was only one person there. I don't know his name but Francisco and I call him Ankle Tattoo (we have nicknames for most of the regular gym people). Then Ankle Tattoo left and I was alone for awhile until Lifts Too Much Weight and Does it Badly arrived. I finished my exercising (still hate the term 'workout') and went to shower, and when I was leaving I saw that Pretty Indian Girl and Nondescript Man Who Hasn't Been at the Gym Long Enough to Acquire a Nickname were both there, but that was it. The gym is always underpopulated on Fridays, which is partly the reason I make the effort to go; I like the solitude.

Can I speak about Ankle Tattoo's ankle tattoo for a moment? I believe it is a good tattoo, meaning that it was done well, but it is a very generic sun motif, and also there is something odd about a man sporting an ankle tattoo--it just doesn't seem to work. It's too feminine a spot for a man, unless you're gay. This guy doesn't seem to be gay but maybe he's in denial. I digress. People, if you're going to get a tattoo, make it something unusual that says something about you and your personality; don't just pick something off the wall at the tattoo studio. Anything that can be drawn can be tattooed--remember that. And men, if you're not gay, don't tattoo your ankles until everything else is covered. Too incongruous. Thanks.

Eh, don't listen to tattoobelly; she's feeling a mite codgery today.

I love putting 'y' on the end of words that cannot grammatically sustain a 'y'.

And that's a wrap for today, people. Have a great weekend, and whatever else you may do on Saturday and Sunday, do not--I implore you--throw an oily rag into your laundry hamper. It's just not smart.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify