I hope we're not warping him

2001-05-24

I was tailgated by yet another minivan this morning. Once again I thought of how much I would like one of those lighted message-bar things. I would put it in my back window and I would have it not scrolling but flashing the words and holding them up for 3 seconds or so. I know I'm not explaining that well, but I thought of a message for the minivan person. It would go like this:

UH...HELLO

YEAH YOU

I AM EXCEEDING

THE SPEED LIMIT

SO COULD YOU KINDLY

CEASE TAILGATING ME

[5 second pause]

YOU ASSHOLE

I think that last bit is a nice touch.

Last night Francisco and I and the Boy watched the series finale of Voyager. Well, the Boy only watched the first hour, but F and I watched the whole thing. The Boy is aware, from listening to me tease Francisco, that Francisco has a crush on Jeri Ryan, who plays Seven of Nine on Voyager, but Boy had never seen her before. So Seven comes on the screen and Boy says, "she's not that pretty", and I say, "wait until she stands up". Then she stands up and is shown from the side, and I said to the Boy, "See? Look at those hooters! Look at them, they're like cantaloupes!" Boy thought that was very very funny--my humor plays well with 9 year olds. He said a little later that he doesn't see why Francisco has such a crush on her, and I said, "Honey, I can give you TWO reasons.", and Boy shrieked with laughter. He thought that was the funniest thing ever, but I think what he really enjoyed about my joke was that he understood it. It made me remember how, when I was a kid, more than half my enjoyment in any joke was that I GOT it. Remember that? When we were kids there was so much we didn't understand, and actually Getting a joke felt like such a great thing. To me anyway.

I'm taking my lunch late today. Someone came over from computer support to try and solve the various problems we're having in this office. Several of us have been having a problem where if we open Word the computer completely freezes up. Can't even re-boot, just have to turn the computer off. The computer guy (Scott) labored over reinstalling Word on my computer for over an hour, because it kept aborting. Finally done, but it kept me from taking my lunch on time, since I take lunch in my office while updating my diary. No biggie I guess, but it made me rather impatient.

Today is apparently Bob Dylan's 60th birthday. My boss loves Bob Dylan-- like, a little too much--so someone brought in a cake that says "Happy Birthday Bob Dylan" on top, as sort of a joke. I wrote a large post-it that says, "You look like a monkey and smell like one too", and left it next to the cake. Just to be totally childish. My boss hasn't come in yet so he has seen neither the cake nor the note, and I guess if he doesn't come in we should cut and consume the cake anyway. Wouldn't want it to get stale, you know...

I am very excited about the Republican senator who is defecting to the Democratic side. Woo-Hoo! I just think that is the best thing ever--in your face, Dubya! Have I mentioned my undying hatred for all things Dubya? Yes, yes I believe I have. Can you believe the US gave $48 million dollars to the freaking Taliban so they could destroy the poppy fields?! Do the people who made that decision really think it is going to make a difference in the number of drug addicts in this country? I think if someone is an addict, they would be an addict of something even if the thing they are addicted to didn't exist. Like, heroin addicts would be alcoholics or something. I think the impetus of addiction comes from inside a person, not from the drugs to which they have access. Seriously. So we gave $48 million to the Taliban, the oppressor of women. The people who are now making Hindus wear identifying badges, ostensibly to protect them, but come on; that is horse shit. Hello?! Remember the Nazis?! We stood by and let the Nazis kill people for way too long before taking action, and now apparently we're not only going to stand by while the Taliban persecutes people, but we're going to Give Them Money!! The fact we gave money to that group makes me So Angry, and makes me even more convinced that Dubya is not merely a benign idiot, but is in fact Evil To The Core.

I had not planned to rant today; it just kind of happened. I'm in a very good mood, actually, but am obviously pissed about certain current events, and certain high-ranking morons.

Nothing else to talk about right now, so bye, and love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify