brain cloud

2001-05-21

I just went to the store during lunch and I saw the most ridiculous automobile. It was a Honda Accord LX, but it had been modified in two ways, both of which gave it a silly, silly appearance. First, and most noticeable, was the enORmous butt fin thing (I do not know what these are called, but maybe you know what I'm talking about). It was easily 5 times as big as any normal butt fin I've seen--it stuck up almost higher than the roof. I was snickering at that when I noticed the muffler and tailpipe. I guess the muffler was normal-ish, though it too looked bigger than it should have, but the pipe was big and extended from the muffler like a horn--skinnier where it attached to the muffler than where it ended. I'd say the end was as big as a salad plate. I know this probably shouldn't amuse me as much as it does, but hey, that's me for you.

I did something interesting yesterday, or at least it was interesting to me. I made a cake for Francisco and it turned out better than I could have imagined. It was a coconut cake from a recipe in a Living magazine. I need to say at the outset that I hate Martha Stewart. I think she is an elitist bitch, but that cake recipe kicked ass. It was, of course, a gigantic pain in the ass to make (as are All of Martha's recipes) but it was worth it. Francisco liked it a lot and even the boy, who is not a total coconut fan, liked it. It really helps having a KitchenAid--I don't know that it would have turned out as good if I didn't have one. It was only my second cake made from scratch, but it was very encouraging. I think I'm going to have to become a Cake Master Extraordinaire.

Okay, I have to tell you that Shrek is a great movie. I wouldn't have seen it if it wasn't for The Boy, and I would have missed out. Most kid movies are total crap, in my opinion. Usually when I take the Boy to movies it is a complete act of love on my part, because I suffer the whole time, but not so with Shrek. It is a sendup of Disney movies and there is some excellent wicked humor in it, plus humor that was clearly intended only for the parents--stuff that goes right over little heads. Basically I recommend this movie to you, regardless of whether or not you have kids; it is that good. We saw it on a twilight show, so lots of kids in the theater, and I love seeing movies when the theater is full of kids. They get so into it. During a sad part I could hear a child in front of me saying, in a truly grieved tone, "OH NO..."--it was sweet. I was reminded of the time Francisco and I saw The Lion King in a theater packed with kids. They had us laughing almost constantly. My favorite part was when some small child, overcome with excitement, yelled out, "Get him, Simba!!" That was the best.

I was such a good exerciser on Saturday. I did 45 minutes of aerobic exercise and then a Lot of weight lifting. I was quite sore on Sunday, which was proof that the weight lifting did something. This morning I also went to the gym and walked a little on the treadmill, then I ran awhile, but I can't run very long before my left knee starts really hurting. I could only go for a wimpy 7 minutes before I had to slow to a walk again. I think it's a problem with some of my leg muscles not being as strong as others, but I don't know how to fix it. I can try to get a referral from my primary care doctor to see a sports medicine type person, but my brain scoffs at me even while I think it. "Bwaaahahahahahahahaha!", it says. If I can't manage to get a simple lab referral from that office, there is little chance of getting a doctor referral. But you know, I think I'll try. I think I will make an appt with my actual primary care doctor, someone I have never met in 4 years with this health plan, to discuss my thyroid and my knee. In that order. Plus anything else I think of. If anyone at that office is obligated to care whether I live or die it would be her, dontcha think?

I had made a vow that I would not be self-deprecating in this diary anymore, but I don't think it's self-deprecating to say I feel a little off today, and this entry is not turning out the way I would like. I had quite a migraine earlier and that almost always effects the way my brain works. I feel kind of far away, brainwise, and also not very creative today. I'm Not apologizing, I'm just saying. So if it's okay with y'all, I think I'll stop now and try again tomorrow when the old brain is back to normal. See ya--

Lovelove,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify