motion-sensing hilarity

2001-05-16

There are 2 or 3 cats who live near my office building; we see them sometimes but they run away when we "kitty-kitty" them. I would love to start feeding these cats in an attempt to tame them, but I always forget to pick up cat food when I'm at the store. Yes I have cat food at home, but it is Science Diet and I'm afraid my finances will not allow me to feed strays with the Science Diet. I think Friskies would be more in line with our budget. Anyway, yesterday when I was leaving work I was thinking it would be interesting to roast a whole chicken and set it up outside on one of those roasting tripod things and see what happened to it. Because there are also other animals in the area, including a brown fox, and I just wonder what animals would be attracted to the chicken. I would probably need a motion-sensing camera for this to be a really good experiment and since I don't have one of those, I am just not going to do the Roasted Chicken Idea. And as soon as I decided that, I realized that this is the difference between most of the people I know and Bobby. Bobby has bizarre ideas and actually follows through with them. I admire him exceedingly.

I have long wished for a motion-sensing camera at home, because I would like to see what my cats do all day. Usually when I come home they're lying in the same place they were when I left, but I know they don't stay there all day. When they were younger I would find a lot of evidence of their activity--clumps of fur, or things chewed or knocked off shelves and tables, primarily. Esther used to be a big chewer of things. We could never do puzzles that were unfinishable in one sitting because she would chew as many pieces as she could before her jaw tired out. We used to hoard corrogated cardboard boxes so we'd have something for her to chew when we were gone on trips. We'd call the boxes her "projects", and it was amazing how much cardboard she could rip off a box in the course of a few days. She didn't swallow the cardboard (don't worry); she would just leave the chewed bits on the carpet. She's mostly over that now, but it would have been funny to have a camera to capture every moment of her box biting/ripping.

All my coworkers went to a baseball game this afternoon. It is kind of an office tradition that we attend one baseball game per year together. In previous years they have been night games, but this year they're doing a day game. I went the past two years and swore I would never go again. I got sunburned and was sweaty and miserable and claustrophobic from all the people around me, cutting off all means of escape, should I need it. When the invitation went out this year, I declined, and I have gotten a lot of flack over it but have stood firm. I knew if I didn't go I would have to stay at work, but I don't care and it's quiet and I can get a lot done without all the interruptions anyway. I had intended to take an extra long lunch but the weather is drizzly and not conducive to being out. Went to Barnes and Noble but that's all I did.

Got a call last night from our friends and former neighbors who moved to Salt Lake City last September. We miss them a lot. We used to go to the drive-in with them, or have dinner and play games, or watch videos and whatnot. The woman, Carla, and I did some shopping together and spent time plotting raids upon other people's iris bulbs and pear trees. Of course we never actually went through with the raids, but they were fun to talk about. The people who bought their house (Muppet Man and his child bride) are nice and all, but we have nothing in common with them and don't have any interest in trying to be their friends. We're somewhat reclusive by nature, but we do have Some friends.

Well I'm off, kids--talk to you later,

E

PS Two of my coworkers just called me from the bathroom at the baseball park to tell me the game still has not started, 2 hours after it was supposed to. It was raining and even though it stopped awhile ago, the tarp is still on the field. I am very amused by that, and at least their seats are under cover.

PPS Oh, I wanted to say that I have had several amusing google searches lately that have led (for some reason) to this diary. My favorites are "pissypants", "bra-less celebrities", and "Dr. Shrinker". |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify