A mixed bag of a weekend

2001-05-14

Somehow I have become the internet's itchy nipple clearinghouse. There have been a couple more "itchy nipple" google searches that led to this here diary, and one more for "nipple itchiness", which is pretty much the same thing. Here is my official message to anyone searching for "itchy nipple": An itchy nipple is nothing to mess around with. If it goes on for a few days and lotion does nothing to help (meaning, it's not just dry skin), then please take your itchy nipple to the doctor. Most likely it is nothing, but it could possibly be indicative of a serious problem that would be best caught early. PLEASE go to the doctor; Tattoobelly comMANDS you! That is all.

I had two odd dreams this morning. One: I had been hired by the X-Files to be the new Agent Scully (they needed to replace Gillian Anderson for some reason). I have no acting experience but I am somehow good enough to land this role. Unfortunately I keep getting the giggles when I try to rehearse the lines with David Duchovny. He is not impressed. Two: I found out my boss has kept a calendar of the menstrual cycles of all the women in the office (for the record there are 13 women in our office and one man--my boss). I was completely outraged and grossed out. Even though it was only a dream, I am having trouble looking him in the eye today.

You know what never fails to tick me off? When commercials show people doing stupid and/or dangerous things, you can count on some small print flashing at the bottom of the screen saying, "Do not try this at home". It ticks me off not so much that the words are there, but that they Have to be there because there are so many stupid people who actually Would try it at home. The latest example of this for me is a commercial showing that Shaq guy lifting a vending machine. The print said, "Do not attempt". Please, as if there are lots of people who are strong enough to lift a vending machine. But you know someone will try, and that's what makes me mad.

Also, I get mad on the rare occasions I spend a few minutes watching Jerry Springer. It dismays me that there are so many idiots in the world and that they are breeding, but what really makes me change the channel is I get frustrated not being able to hear 50% of what is being said because of all the beeping of objectionable language. However, the last time I watched that show, I was almost sucked in by it, because the audience was chanting "Whore! Whore! Whore! Whore!" at someone, and that's not something you see every day.

The best part of my weekend was going to TJ Maxx on Saturday with Francisco. We got his mother a gift for yesterday and then once her gift was out of the way, we headed for the housewares section to look for stuff for us. We ended up buying, amongst other things, some new flatware, which we have been wanting forEVer. Our former flatware was cheap stuff we bought years ago when we were poor, and now that we're not quite so poor we wanted to replace it. It's good stuff and it was still a splurge, but at TJ Maxx not quite such a splurge as it would've been elsewhere. Yay us!

The worst part of my weekend was yesterday. I'm not going to go into this issue much, but Mother's Day is a hard day for me. I'm not a mom, per se, but I might as well be a mom because I do all the stuff moms do. I thought some about the Boy's mom, and how she probably hates Mother's Day now too. She gave birth to him but doesn't take care of him, and I do take care of him but I didn't give birth to him, so really our situations are fairly similar. In a nutshell, neither of us is really his mom, so neither of us gets celebrated as such. Which should be no big deal, truly, since Mother's Day is just a holiday people made up to sell guilt and merchandise, but still there was quite a pity party going on in my brain yesterday. Balloons and everything.

In other news this weekend, I made a great chicken salad and a good Greek Lemon soup and shortcake for strawberry shortcake, so I am kind of back on the cooking bandwagon. I did not, however, go to the gym on Saturday so it blew my whole '6 days of the gym last week' project. In my defense, I had a weird throat on Friday night and thought I was getting Francisco and the Boy's cold. You know how your throat feels just before a cold--kind of like a washrag was dragged through it? That was the throat I had so I stayed home from the gym but the washrag throat never developed into anything more. Probably just allergies. I went to the gym this morning, and it is my plan to go 6 days This week, and may god have mercy on my soul.

Aaaaaand, otherwise it's just a typical Monday today. Nothing else to report, except that I'm sad Douglas Adams died this weekend. He was a genius writer and he will be greatly missed.

Love to you,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify