I'm not quite dead

2001-05-04

Oh my gosh, did you guys miss me? I was out sick for the past two days, and didn't update from home because Francisco takes the fast computer--the laptop--with him when he goes to work/school, and the other one is just too slow and aggravating. I had the weirdest illness. It started on Tuesday; I had a headache, a sore throat and neck, a stomachache, and a heavy body. It was like gravity times 3 with the heaviness. This continued on Wednesday so I called in sick, and then Wednesday afternoon the illness moved south, so to speak, and became acute intestinal distress. I felt somewhat better yesterday, but what with the intestinal distress I didn't want to be at work, so far from my own bathroom. Sorry to gross you out. But I'm totally better now and thrilled that I got out of two days at work, even though I felt like crap. (I would have said shit, but my parents are reading my diary now.) Anyway, I watched a pretty good amount of daytime television, and you can learn a lot about people from watching daytime television. Mostly what you're learning is that people are bad and stupid (Jerry Springer and his ilk). Not all people, though; the Kids in the Hall are excellent people, and rather geniusy, in my opinion. I also sort of enjoyed Regis and Kelly, but mostly because Kelly is like Kathie Lee but 25 years younger. Or more--I'm not very good at guessing people's ages. Kelly is a nice person and all that, but the resemblance to Kathie Lee in looks and personality is fairly striking, and fascinated me probably too long. I also watched a show on TLC about blind dates, and that was okay but most of the people set up on blind dates did not like each other, or did but not enough to actually be a match. Or whatever.

I saw an ad that still has me shaking my head. It was for this ugly-ass coin that is a holograph of the statue of liberty. Notice how I didn't capitalize that. It was a really long commercial saying how the "American Mint" is releasing a $10 coin and it's the ugly holograph and they had some really bad actor on the commercial talking up the coin, and it was only $10. Are you thinking what I was thinking? How can they profit on selling a $10 coin for $10? Once they said the price I started looking for the small print, and there it was: "10 Liberian Dollars". And as you can probably guess, the Liberian dollar is not worth as much as the US dollar. One Liberian dollar=about 43 US cents right at this moment. So there you go. I think these stupid coin-sellers are evil, and I think it's sad so many people will be sucked in by it, but maybe they can make a Jerry Springer topic about it.

In other television news, Survivor. I am very surprised that Tina won. Well, actually not too surprised, because as soon as Colby voted Keith out, it was obvious Tina would win, but I was very surprised Colby voted out Keith instead of Tina. Strategy dictated he vote out Tina, because he could totally have beaten Keith. I guess Colby is a pretty nice guy, much though I hate to say it after all my Colby-bashing. If you saw the last episode, could you believe how different they all looked last night, when the live portion of the show started? Colby packed his weight back on, and then some. I didn't think he was fat, but he seemed to have gained back more than he lost. They all had to wear the same clothes as in the last episode, but I think he probably had to cheat and buy some larger shorts that looked the same. I haven't watched the last hour of the Survivor extravaganza, because I didn't want to stay up until 11 (since I've been sick and all, so we taped it), but I have heard that some pretty funny things were said. One thing is that Kel, when asked what the most frightening thing he encountered in Australia was, said "Jerri", and they all had a good laugh. Except, probably, for Jerri. I am really looking forward to watching that tonight. The Boy was rooting for Tina to win, and we made him go to bed at his normal time and so he'll watch the second hour today and will be so happy that she won. I like how he always wants the women to win. He was a big Alisha supporter until she got voted out. Then he switched to Elisabeth and then to Tina. He is like a pre-pubescent Alan Alda.

I really don't have much more to say, because I've been a shut-in for a couple days and not a lot has happened. Oh, that shut-in thing reminded me of a few days ago when a telemarketer called to offer us a free weekend in Myrtle Beach (a place in which I would not vacation for any amount of money). I told her thank you so much but we can't possibly accept since we almost never leave the house due to my husband's vicious diabetes. He doesn't have the diabetes, and actually as soon as I said diabetes I wished I'd said colostomy bag instead, but maybe next time. I feel that lying to the telemarketers will be my new approach. If called by a newspaper re: a subscription I will tell them I am blind and will perhaps cry at their insensitivity in calling me. If a survey calls and asks me if I have a couple minutes I will say no, that I have to leave the house right away because I have just had a bomb threat. Stuff like that to basically make the telemarketer want to get off the phone asap. I am really looking forward to it.

Okay, well I should have more to actually say next time, since I have now left the house and plan to continue doing that. This weekend I've decided to finally make a banner for my little diary, following the helpful instructions people compiled for Andrew, and I'm kind of excited at the idea of both learning how to make a banner and having it running. It's a good thing.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify