Little presents to myself

2001-04-26

You know that saying, "Better late than never?" I really believe in that.

Next. Francisco has always had a little pet name for me: Poopypants. The other night he was going to save a game of Driver on the Playstation and he had to enter a word under which to save. He went to enter Poopypants, but instead he typoed and put in Poopypanu. And you know, I think I like that better. It's kind of a cross between a Polynesian Chieftain and a large, loveable, animal-costumed children's show host. I have taken to saying "Poopypanu loves you" to the Boy, and he at least pretends to be amused. Or I say things like, "You must take out the garbage; Poopypanu commands it!" That little typo has brought such joy into all our lives...mine mostly.

I went out at lunch and did some shopping. I got paid yesterday and I felt that work has been hellish enough to warrant the buying of some little presents for myself. I got some lipstick and some under-eye wrinkle prevention cream and a magazine and some sushi. I know the sushi might not count, to some people, but it is not the kind of thing I normally eat at lunch. It is the smoked eel roll...mmm. I also got a candy bar, but I ate that on the way back to work because I wanted to. I was going to buy a cd, but as so often happens when I set out to purchase a cd, I balked at the last minute. I start thinking that maybe the 2 or 3 songs I've heard from it are the only good ones on the album, and maybe the rest is terrible, and do I really want to spend $15 for a mostly terrible cd? No. I know $15 is not a lot, but if I feel it's wasted money, it will torment me. I have money issues left over from when I was a poor college student, wearing clothes from the Free Box.

Actually, the Free Box kicked ass! I went to the Evergreen State College in WA, which, btw, is a very hippy kind of place. There was a large wooden box in the Student Center that served as the Free Box. If you didn't want something anymore, you put it there, or you could take anything out of there, for free--hence the name. I got some very good things from the Free Box. Do you mind if I continue to capitalize Free Box? I like it.

I have been trying to be a little more Zen in my daily life, but the only thing I've managed to become Zen about is driving. I've gotten pretty self-righteous about it, actually, which I know is not part of the whole Zen ideal, but it's fairly satisfying anyway. On the freeway I put my cruise control at exactly 6 mph over the speed limit, and if people tailgate me, I just say to them, tailgate me all you want, it will not make me go faster. I am in the slow lane when I do this, so it's not like they couldn't just go around. I almost always feel very calm when I drive, and if you'd known me before, you would know what a huge change that is for me. When I lived in CA, especially, I would yell and honk and speed and make rude gestures. Poopypanu was hell to deal with when she was driving, but there is a kinder, gentler Poopypanu now. Poopypanu is magnanimous when dealing with the impatient drivers of the world. Poopypanu has also traded in the grateful wave she used to use when generously allowed unwarranted right-of-way, and instead Poopypanu now blows kisses. Poopypanu is Vengeful No Longer.

Wow, I could really do that Poopypanu thing for a long time, because I find it so, so amusing. I am my own best audience. For real.

Take care kids, and I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

P |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify