Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you....the Skipsations!!

2001-04-23

This will be a short entry, because I don't really feel like updating. We have enjoyed the visit from Francisco's sister and her husband Very Much. They're going back home today, and I wish they could stay longer, but it was great to see them. I love that they are my family. It's kind of weird that family can be created so easily. Like, it's not weird to me that she is family because I married her brother, and it's not weird to me that her husband is Francisco's family because he married Francisco's sister, but it's a little weird to me that my brother in law is now my family because he married my sister in law. He's a great person and I really like him, so I'm happy he's my family now; it's just a little weird when I think about it.

We took them to a street fair yesterday, and it was fun to walk around and look at stuff and see the bands, etc. We saw a group called The Skipsations, or something like that, who are not a band but who are a rope jumping club. I enjoyed them on two levels: 1) because the rope jumping was sort of fun to watch, but 2) also because the rope jumping is a little cheesy and I like enjoying cheesy things. They did some cool stuff, particularly the double rope jumping things. Many of the kids (they were probably age 7 to 16 or so) were really not too great at rope jumping, and they were hard to watch because I tend to empathize and want everyone to do well and feel good about their performances. I'm a sap like that. So yeah, 85% of that rope jumping exhibition was painful, but 15% was interesting.

Overall the street fair gets 6 out of 10 stars because I got sunburned (not the fair's fault, I realize, but still it impeded my enjoyment) and because I did not find a silver skull ring to buy, as I had hoped. Something funny I wanted to report about the fair was that we saw some Hari Krishnas, and they were singing a Hari Krishna song, as is their way. I told the Boy that I like the Hari Krishnas--I feel that they are benign, and besides, one once gave me a vegetarian cookbook, at the Portland airport. So after I told him I like them, he said, "Are they a band?" I don't know why I found that quite so amusing, but I did. He is so innocent and unspoiled.

Okay, that's enough for today. I'm feeling rather depressed and have run out of cheerful things to say, so it's time to go, and Happy Monday, chickadees.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify