The rabbit debacle

2001-04-21

Yesterday was the busiest and most stressful day at work I've had in a long time. People were calling and emailing and making various requests (demands), and it was to the point that if one more phone caller asked (in prelude to a demand/request) how I was, I would have said, "well, I feel like everybody's bitch...what can I do for you today?" In the midst of the stress, Francisco called and asked if I still planned to come home early. I had pretty much given up on going home early, since the day had turned so ugly, and I indicated that, but he said he had put a cheesecake in the oven and it needed to come out at 4:15. If I couldn't come home early he'd have to wait for the cheesecake and would be late picking up his sister and her husband at the airport. [I will talk more about his sister and her husband and their visit in a minute]

So, with the cheesecake in the oven, I had to leave early, regardless of the maelstrom, and it turned out okay, but I left the office with no time to spare. I have a question: why is it that all the slow people come out when you have to get somewhere quickly? As I was pulling out of the office parking lot, who should I encounter and have to get behind? If you guessed 'Student Driver' you would be correct. 'Student Driver' is the worst to be behind when you're in a rush, because 'Student Driver' is always so tentative, and always, damn it, follows the speed limit. Once I got away from 'Student Driver' I had a multitude of police to contend with. They were apparently taking advantage of the lovely Friday afternoon to set up their speed traps and perhaps do a little picnicking. Even in spite of all the obstacles I was up against, I got home just in time to take that cheesecake out before it overbaked. I am just that speedy.

So yes, Francisco's sister and her man are visiting, and I couldn't talk about it beforehand because it was a surprise for mother in law (MIL), and who knows when MIL might take it into her head to poke around a little on the web? She was Very surprised, it was pretty funny. Last night we had dinner and talked and this morning MIL took SIL and HUB out for breakfast and shopping. SIL and HUB are currently downstairs in the living room, talking with Francisco and watching Boy playing with his new video game. I love my sister in law and her man; they are the Best. We last saw them at Xmas--we stayed at their house with them and their funny dog, Mambo.

The Boy reminded me last night about something I had forgotten, regarding our Xmas visit. Francisco and I had gone to have dinner with a friend and had left the Boy with SIL and her hub (in sort of a getting-to-know-you thing, since they had not spend much time with Boy), and when we got back I saw my stuffed animal rabbit in the living room. This is pretty embarrassing, but I have a small stuffed animal rabbit I've had since I was 13, and usually it is on my bedside table, but sometimes I feel I need some extra comforting and when that happens, I sleep with it. This is not something I necessarily like admitting, because I feel that it detracts from my character. Anyway, I was in a phase of sleeping with the rabbit over Xmas and had brought it on the trip, but I had hidden it in my suitcase, since I didn't want anyone to know I had it. I guess practically the moment Francisco and I left to see our friend, Mambo went into the room we were staying in and rooted around in the suitcase and got my rabbit. SIL and HUB thought it was something Mambo had found outside, because the children next door frequently throw things into their yard, so they had been playing with the rabbit and Mambo all night, calling my rabbit her baby (Mambo, get your baby!). My rabbit was very moist and worked over, but mercifully not torn. In my rescue operation I had to cop to the ownership of the rabbit, and I will not live that down anytime soon.

I have previously mentioned that SIL is pregnant, and much of the conversation last night involved MIL trying to convince SIL and HUB that Olivia is what they should name the baby if it is a girl. They don't like the name much and are holding firm, and thank god because I don't like the name either. No offense to any Olivias or parents of Olivias.

Okay, my brain is not really in update mode and I know this is pedantic and boring, plus I'm being harrassed from downstairs to finish up so we can leave to go to Duke gardens (they really are gorgeous at this time of year) so I am going to yield the floor, and I love you all.

E

PS Juan, you owe me email. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify