Liver, yes; but in what sense pudding?

2001-04-20

Oh my god, diaryland is making me so nervous today! I can't tell you how addicted I am to the diaryland, and to have it be so up and down is nervewracking (yes, I am exaggerating a little). Some terrible server thing, I imagine. Poor Andrew, I picture him typing furiously at a keyboard, sweat pouring down his face, as he simultaneously yells into a phone at the person ultimately responsible for the server. Not that Andrew would yell, necessarily, but I would yell, and I have a tendency toward transference.

So, Survivor. I hate to admit it--I hate it so very much--but the show isn't as gripping without the Evil Jerri. I loved when she got voted out, but now there's no one to hate and the lack of opposition is not as exciting. I will say, though, that I am very sad Rodger was voted out last night, and I think he is the nicest man EVer for purposely asking to be voted out instead of Elizabeth. If she wins the money I bet she'll give him some. I doubt she'll win, mind you, but she has a shot if she can get immunity a couple times. Wherever she was last night, she was watching the tv and crying, because I don't think she knew Rodger made the sacrifice to keep her in the game. I have no prediction who will win, but I hope not Colby. I don't know why, but I really dislike Colby. He has never displayed evil tendencies, but I get a bad vibe off him.

My friend Kimberly called last night on a Survivor commercial. She is watching it, so when the commercial ended we both hung up abruptly. I love that I have a friend like that--someone who both understands and appreciates the importance of Survivor and not of missing a moment.

I read this morning that Spinal Tap will be touring this summer. I think if they play near here I will try to go. They crack me up with their touring--they are a pretend rock band, and everyone who goes to the concerts is a pretend fan. Everyone involved is acting in a giant cosmic play--it is a beautiful thing.

This morning some of the staff cooked breakfast (our office has a kitchen) and I tried something I've never had before--liver pudding. It is a mushy brick of liver that you slice and fry, and I didn't like it so much (it is flavored like breakfast sausage, which I don't enjoy), but it is a southern thing and I try to grow where I'm planted. I volunteered to make breakfast next Friday, because it's fun to have that little socialization time, but I don't know what I'll make. If liver pudding is what the people want, will they settle for scones?

Our office has a cleaning lady; her name is Delores, and her life is not good. I never know what to talk to her about. I can't ask her how her weekend was, or if she has plans for the weekend, because she has like three jobs, so usually she's just working and can't even sleep in. Her weekend is never good. If I ask her how her day is going, she is tired because she has to get up at 4 for the cleaning job. Or she is not feeling well, or she was just in a car accident, or she sprained her ankle. I know that her life is just bad, and it's not necessarily her fault, but it's really hard to talk to someone who is always in misery. Any subject I bring up is shot down with a misery missile, so basically I just stick to the weather, unless it's raining. If it's raining I fake stomach cramps.

Okay, going to post this now because I fear if I wait any longer the server will go down again and my entry will be lost in diaryland limbo.

Enjoy your weekend, sugarpops!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify