Overheard near the Little Debbies

2001-04-12

Dudes, I have no idea why practically my whole last entry is linking to Tiewaz (or something like that), but I emailed the irrepressible Andrew to ask him why, and hopefully he can fix that. I just wish it wasn't wrecking the moon landing conspiracy link, but actually if you click on the last word ("out") in that paragraph, the link still works.

You know, there are things I like about living in the south. This morning at the grocery store, the cashier (an older lady) called me honey, and I like that. Lots of older women call me honey here, and I plan to honey everybody too when I get a little older; I already honey children. Another thing I like about the south is the weather, even when it's summer and 100 degrees with 99% humidity. The spring and fall make up for the summer, and anyway, it's no big deal with air conditioning. And tomatoes and basil grow Really Well here--I'm going to plant some on Saturday; I love the tomatoes and the basil! (I also love saying "the" before nouns that really don't require "the".) Spring comes much earlier here than up north, that's for sure. My parents in Oregon have been having 50-60 degree weather, and they are jealous of our 80 degrees. I try not to flaunt it but they know I am inwardly gloating.

I overheard such an intriguing thing this morning at the store. I heard an employee talking to a Little Debbies delivery man, and she was saying how this time of year is always hard for her because she has no contact with her family. The guy asked why, and the lady said that her family had cut off all contact with her when she got married, because she was raised Jehovah's Witness and she married someone who was not a JW. I knew that the JWs do an Amish-style 'shunning' kind of thing when one of their own breaks ranks, but I had never heard about any specific instances before this morning. It was all I could do not to congratulate her for getting out of the JWs. That's the problem with me and eavesdropping; I always want to join the conversation, and if I did it would totally blow my cover.

Our Easter plans are made; we're going to dim sum with Francisco's mother after she is finished with church. She wanted us to come over for a big Easter meal, but we had already planned to do dim sum, so we invited her and she reluctantly accepted. She says dim sum is not traditional, but who cares? That woman can't always have everything her own way, much though she'd like to. That's all I'm going to say.

We asked The Boy if he'd like to go to church with Francisco's mom, but he wasn't interested. I can't say I blame him--her church is full of older people who are very conservative and not good company for a 9 year old. One time he went there and was sitting quietly during the service (they have no "children's church"), and he was making a paper airplane from the bulletin--quietly. A man sitting two people down reached over and ripped it out of his hand. Francisco's mom waited until after the service to try and speak to him, but he took off so she talked to his wife, saying she didn't appreciate the guy taking the airplane away. The wife said the husband thought the airplane was too distracting. I was livid when I heard about the incident, and really livid is not even a strong enough word. If that man, an adult, was distracted by a little boy making a paper airplane, then he wasn't too interested in the sermon to begin with. And of course the main point is that he had No Right to take the airplane away--who the hell does he think he is?! I honestly believe that if I had been there I would have been so angry I would made a huge scene and demanded the man give the plane back there and then. And after we got it back we would have left in a Serious Huff. So, probably good I wasn't there, but the vengeful side of me would still like the opportunity to tell that man off.

Sorry--that was rather tangential, but I just get angry all over again when I think about it. Serenity Now!!

I'm going to go scarf some lunch now--I've got popcorn and an apple. Not the greatest lunch and I should eat something more wholesome, since I had a donut for breakfast, but, eh, whattaya gonna do?

Love,

E

PS My name is Eva but I used to tell people that my nickname is Elizabeth, because, see, I thought it was funny to have a nickname that was longer than my actual name. I'm a freak.

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify