The Hair-Removal Clan

2001-03-28

First of all, this:

Oh Yeah.

Secondly, I went to the natural foods market at lunch to get a few items, and suddenly right in front of me was a Muslim woman in the full black costume (I'm sorry, I can't remember what this is called)--the one with just the eye slit. For some reason it was the creepiest thing in the world right then. I mean, I have nothing against Muslim women, but seeing her in those oppressive garments made me feel panicky, like it was me who had to breathe stuffy air and not her. I don't know, I guess I shouldn't get so worked up.

Did I mention I'm going to the beach this weekend? Me and Francisco and the Boy and Francisco's mom are going to the beach in NC, to stay in the house of a rich woman. Francisco's mom knows this woman from her church and the woman invited us to use the beach house. Note to self: find rich people to be friends with. It's probably going to rain or be chilly, but I don't care, I just want to get away for a couple of days. I worry about leaving the cats, so at the market at lunch I bought them some catnip. I figure if they're high off catnip all weekend they won't miss us as much.

This morning I was thinking about this great guy I know who, for some reason, thought I was British when he met me. It's So Funny he would think that because he knows my sister and he met my parents, and they're not British, but he asked his wife if I was British. Like I would be the exotic one of the family. Apparently it's the way I talk, which I have never thought is particularly British, but to him it screamed Big Ben or something. I have since tormented him with that a little, by calling him Old Bean or saying "loo" or "jolly good" and cheesy stuff like that. His name is Dan. Hi Dan! The last time I saw him his mother-in-law had just given his wife (Kimmy) some of that NADS stuff--the hair removal goop. Kimmy hadn't used it yet so she asked Dan if he would let her pull off some of his leg hair to demonstrate the product for me and my sister (my sister=lavalamp--go read her...). He said no to the leg hair but he volunteered the back of his neck. Kimmy made him lay on the coffee table and we clustered around and she spread the goop and ripped hair off him. I guess it hurt, he kind of yelled a lot. But Dan is terrific, he's a good sport, and Kimmy is terrific too. Kimmy is my sis's best friend and she was a godsend to my family when my sis was in the hospital.

That Women and Tattoos show on MSNBC Monday night was good. It made me want to get my phoenix tattoo soon. If the show comes on again, it's totally worth watching, just so you know. Something I think is cool is I get a lot of people reading my diary after doing google searches for "lower back tattoos", and I had one for "best overall tattooed females" and one for "tattoo convention 2001 Hamburg". I like that.

No more time to write today, so bye and have a good Wednesday!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify