Statuettes

2001-03-26

Oh yes, my boy Benicio won an Oscar last night, and that was all I stayed up for. I knew I was getting up at 5:00 this morning, and I also didn't much care who won the best actor and actress awards, so I went to bed after Benicio. He totally deserved that Oscar, and if he hadn't won it would have been an outrage. I would possibly have had to go on some kind of mayhem spree to protest the injustice, and that would have been really inconvenient, what with work and all.

Re: the Oscars, I have to say 1) I really loved Steve Martin's hosting; he was perfect--very funny but not overwhelming. 2) I feel that the Academy Awards should be a place of elegance and decorum; that celebrities should put away their normally trashy ways and rise to the occasion. That said, what was up with Jennifer Lopez's nipples? Since she insisted on going bra-less, she should've put some bandaids over those things. And good god, that duck dress of Bjork's....I have not the words. Yeah yeah, I know it was a swan, but I will call it the duck dress anyway. 3) Could Russell Crowe have Been any more humorless? Francisco and I have decided Russell Crowe has that short guy's chip on his shoulder. I didn't realize he was a short guy until last night, and then it all fell into place. If I may digress for just one moment, when I was a freshman in college I was doing a little shopping one day, and I came across some sale stickers in a stationary store. There were two sheets of stickers of various sizes and fonts, that said Chip. The name Chip. They had other weird names on sale too, and they were fifty cents, so I bought the Chip ones and for a couple weeks I wore Chip stickers on my shoulders, or stuck them on other people's shoulders surreptitiously. It was kind of fun, but then, I'm a dufus. End of digression. 4) I really love the Oscars and it's so hard to accept that I may never actually attend them. lavalamp and I want to write a screenplay and of course we fantasize that it will be nominated for an Oscar, but that will probably never happen, realistically. But oh, if it would, that would be the best thing ever! I wonder if it's only celebrities that get clothed by designers or if they try to clothe unknown nominees also. Bring it on, Versace!

I had a good weekend. Did more yard work on Saturday, and some work in the house, and on Sunday did some cleaning and then out to Indian food for dinner. The boy spent the night with a friend last night(it's his Spring break this week), so we were free to eat any exotic food we wanted. After Indian food back home for the awards, of which I have already spoken. The movies I rented Friday were mostly good. Three out of four were good, and one was pretty boring. Two of the movies were new--Nurse Betty and The Way of the Gun, and we enjoyed them both. The Way of the Gun has, of course, Benicio Del Toro, so how could I not enjoy?

I have to speak of something very strange now, and I just don't know what to make of this. A few months ago I awoke in the night to hear what sounded like whispering at the foot of my bed. It went on a long time and I was trying to determine if it was coming from outside or if a radio had turned itself on or something, but it wasn't anything like that. It stopped and I thought it was very weird but I haven't thought about it much since then. Last night it happened again; I woke up to whispery noises and I lay there and listened and a couple times I thought I heard individual words but it was like very fast whispering so I couldn't make anything out. While it was happening I was thinking that maybe it was one of my cats making those noises, but they were both on the bed and at any rate the sound went on for so long and was so varied in tone and whatnot that I just don't know that it Could be my cats. The first time it happened I concluded it was the ghost of my deceased great aunt, and I guess it could be, but I have no idea. I am flummoxed.

Okay, going to go now, but before I do I want to say that there is a show on tonight that looks very interesting and I'm going to watch it. It's on MSNBC at 8pm EST, and it's a show about women and tattoos--apparently women are getting a lot of tattoos recently, and someone has noticed. The previews for it showed some beautiful work, so if you like looking at tattoos, this show's for you.

Lisa: "Is that dad?"

Bart: "Either that or Batman has really let himself go"

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify