I Am A Total Dufus

2001-03-21

Sometimes I do dumb things and then I can't understand exactly how they happened. Like last night, I got my gym stuff out, ready for this morning, and set my alarm for 5:00 but then I woke up this morning at 5:55 and the alarm hadn't gone off. I spent several frustrating minutes trying to remember if I had turned it off during the night or if I just hadn't done the crucial step of clicking the button to "alarm on". I have no idea. I have been prone to sleepwalking in the past and have done things in the night such as turn off my alarm or (when younger) journey to the bathroom, remove my retainer, put it in its case, and return to bed. On the morning after such an event I have remembered none of it. It's been awhile since I sleepwalked and knew I did it. The last time was a couple years ago when I went to bed, fell asleep, and then suddenly woke up standing in front of Francisco's study door (he sometimes stays up late reading or writing papers). I was very confused but not traumatised, as people in old movies would have you believe sleepwalkers are when they are awoken.

So I don't know--the alarm incident is no big deal, but if I did sleepwalk then I hope I don't start doing it regularly again. It creeps me out to think about ghouling around the house at night. Since I didn't go to the gym this morning I'm going to do a step aerobic class this evening and will probably feel like an ass, since I haven't done it for awhile. But that's the price you pay when your alarm doesn't go off and you need to exercise.

Speaking of feeling like an ass (as I just was), yesterday when I got home there was a message from a video store saying that the movies we rented were now 8 days overdue. As soon as I heard that I knew: I had turned them in at the wrong video store. I hadn't rented them and I made an assumption about where Francisco had rented them, and I turned them in there--9 days ago. I called the place I turned them in at and they still had them, so Francisco picked them up on his way home and dropped them off at the correct video place. Cost us $32 in late fees, which I am sad about, and I feel really stupid. Both video places said that it happens all the time, and I can believe it since people in general are kind of dumb (as evidenced by Dubya's election), but that doesn't make me feel any better.

What Would make me feel better is to spend a few minutes practicing spit-takes, but I don't have the time, and besides, I'm at work. The Boy and I discovered the fun of spit-takes last summer. He had heard me mention them previously, and at one point when we were outside and I was just about to drink some water he asked me, "what's a spit-take?" And excellent cue: I performed one flawlessly and he laughed a lot, and we spent several minutes practicing them and laughing. His grandparents would be glad to know I am equipping him with the necessary skills.

Just a reminder--there is some kind of Survivor show on tonight at 8, but it's not a regular episode, it's a supplementary episode. Probably just a recap, but they promised new footage. I'll watch it; I don't have anything better to do.

Later Dudes,

E

Homer: "...some people will never know the simple pleasures of a monkey knife fight." |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify