Tattoobelly invents yet another cheesy stage show

2001-03-16

People, prepare yourselves; I have had another entertainment brainstorm! I guess this would fall under the category of performance art, and I thought of it this morning at the gym. I was walking on a treadmill when suddenly Holly Hunter's "give me back that baby, you warthog from hell!" Raising Arizona scene popped into my head. If you haven't seen that movie, it is a scene when she is walking quickly toward and yelling at a menacing man who has possession of the baby she previously kidnapped. It's funnier than it sounds. Anyway, I was thinking I could act that scene out, right then and there, since I was walking rapidly, and then it was only a short trip to the idea of a stage show with treadmills upon which people would act out walking and running scenes from movies. There should be a gigantic screen at the back of the stage, onto which background would be projected. Other than the scene from Raising Arizona, I also thought of that scene from North by Northwest, where Cary Grant is being chased by the plane. At the key moment when the plane swoops down on him, a plane (a light one made of wire and fabric) would swoop down on him from the rafters. Or whatever the air above the stage is called in theater terms. Francisco thought of the yellow brick road scenes from the Wizard of Oz, and I'm sure if I had spent any real mental time on it, I could've come up with many many more. I don't know how good an idea this actually is (not sure how many people would find entertainment in this kind of thing), but it totally appeals to me in a campy way. It would be best suited to small venues, I think. I am not going to do it, so anyone else who is intrigued by the idea can have it.

I watched some bad television yesterday during my waiting room time. I saw the end of Good Morning America (I think that was the show), and can I just say, Bryant Gumbel has really bulked up. That's all I have to say about that, since I saw almost none of the show. Then Regis and Kelly came on, and Kelly is a sort younger version of Kathy Lee, but I think I probably like her better, though I don't really care. I never watch that show anyway, so it doesn't matter if I like her. The guests on that show included some soap star actress, Liz Smith (gossip columnist), and a horrific girl band, along the lines of the boy bands but with girls. Retchworthy. After that was over (told you I was in there for a long time), the New Hollywood Squares came on. This was the most frightening of all the shows seen yesterday morning. Several of the "squares" were people from old 70's and 80's sitcoms. Two examples are Linda Lavin (from Alice, a 70's show) and John Ritter (Three's Company, of course). Jasmine Guy was also on, and once when a contestant chose her, the announcer yelled "JASMINE GUY!!!!!!". I had to snicker because I imagined that her name had never, Ever been said with that much manic enthusiasm. I don't think much of her, see. The new Hollywood Squares is such a bad show, it was painful to sit in its presence, and thank god I will never have to be near it again. The old Hollywood Squares only survived as long as it did because it had Paul Lynde.

That's all I have for now. During the above paragraph I received an email from a friend who made several unfair and angry accusations about how I never have time for her, and it is making me really depressed and I don't feel in the mood to write more. Maybe this afternoon after I have written her back and put her straight.

If I don't write again, I hope you have a great weeekend.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify