Shocking the fundamentalists

2001-02-22

Sometimes I wish a snake would find it's way up the plumbing into the toilet and bite me on the ass when I'm peeing. Yes, it would be painful, but I could dine out on that story for the rest of my life.

I am greatly displeased. Someone I know and have written about has found out that I have an online diary, and if this person searches the web for my name, they will most likely find the diary url. I know, because I tried it this morning and it came up. If that happens, I'm going to have to stop writing in here, because this person is not someone I want knowing really anything personal about me. But I'll keep writing for the time being.

Yesterday I read a great diary--it's halee.diaryland; she's so great. She's really into pro wrestling, which I am not, but she writes about it so entertainingly that it doesn't matter if you don't know anything. Check her out if you have a minute.

I thought I was so smart yesterday when I had the big idea to put Pluto on our bed at night to keep Esther from making her nighttime raids upon the covers. She likes to get under there but she makes it hard to sleep, and I thought if Pluto was on the bed, she would cuddle up with him all night long and leave the covers alone. I put Pluto on the bed last night and she spurned him. She spurned him but good. I guess for her the Pluto lovin is only good up in the Boy's room, and I'm not as smart as I thought I was.

Francisco made an observation yesterday that I had thought about before but had never vocalized. Most times if we pay for groceries with a credit card, the cash register at the store will print out 2 receipts. It first prints out the customer receipt and then the receipt we sign and give back to the checker. But (and here is the observation) nine times out of ten the checker will snatch the customer receipt when it prints and withhold it from us until we sign the other receipt, and then they will give it over. It's like they're holding the customer receipt hostage until their other receipt demands are met. This is kind of insulting--what do they think, we're going to run off without signing? And if that's their concern, wouldn't they do better to guard the groceries rather than the customer receipt? It's just stupid, that's all I'm saying.

I have a confession to make. It's something to which I believe I have alluded but I have never actually copped to it. I used to be religious. In fact, for a couple years I attended a fundamentalist Christian college. I'm all cured now, but I'm finally revealing the truth because I want to talk about something amusing that happened in connection with my Christian College attendance. I am trying to find a friend I used to have when I attended there, so I emailed the college to ask if they had his email or regular address. However, when I emailed them I did it through the netscape mailer thing, and I thought I changed the reply-to email address the netscape mailer thing was using, but it apparently didn't take. So when they wrote back to me, they replied to: [email protected]. I just think that's beautiful.

Okay, we're having some odd weather this morning. A few minutes ago there was some big thunder, and now it's snowing in tiny little flakes. It's the dandruff of the gods, and it's accumulating. We don't get much snow here; that's why it's noteworthy.

I had more to say but I need to cut this short. Gotta get some crucial stuff done in case the Boy's school cancels classes and sends the kids home early. They cancel classes at the least sign of weather, so it's not unlikely.

Later,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify