Hot Cat on Pluto action, pomposity, Benicio Del Toro

2001-02-20

My cat, Esther, has fallen in love with a large stuffed animal. It's Pluto, to be exact, and it's the Boy's. It's been in his room since he moved in with us, but Esther has only recently begun adoring it. We are finding her in all sorts of compromising positions with Pluto these days. He's bigger than she is and has long floppy legs, so usually she will burrow in so his legs are embracing her, and she'll tuck her face into his body. It's actually unbelievably cute when she does this and I wish I could sneak up on her with a camera, but you know you can't really sneak up on cats.

Next issue. I've become obsessed with Benicio Del Toro. Francisco and I saw Traffic on Saturday night, and I thought Benicio was...hypnotic in a way. When he was in a scene, he was the only one I could look at; I could not take my eyes off him. I've seen him in other movies--most recently Snatch--and I've never been mesmerized by him before now. Usually he just plays sort of a weird creepy guy (at least in the movies I've seen him in so far), but in Traffic there is a real depth to his character and a definite gentle quality. He amazes me; he's a much better actor than I ever thought he was, when he was only the 'creepy guy'. I want to see every movie he does from now on, and all the ones he did before. My vcr is going to get a workout.

I'm so prone to obsessions and I don't know why. If you read my diary in the future you will probably witness me going through any number of obsessive phases. Just repeat to yourself "It's all part of her charm. It's all part of her charm." You're getting vehry sleepy.

I had to attend an office meeting this morning, and can I just say that my boss is kind of pompous? He does this thing where he asks himself questions and then answers them. A made-up example: "We will be having cake at Friday's meeting. Now, does this mean we will not be having other food at Friday's meeting? No, it does not. Does this mean we will not be having other dessert items? Probably. Will the cake be a very delicious flavor? ABsolutely." I get so I can't help but snicker inwardly when he does the question/answer thing, because he does it all. the. time. And it's so ridiculous.

I've pretty much run out of material now, but I have to say I really like the renovations Diaryland is going through. Makes it easier to find interesting diaries to read, without having to wade through all the teen angst. Can I also mention that andrew has a fabulous diary? I can't believe I didn't read it before now--he makes me laugh out loud and that is rare and precious.

One last thing--John Ridley writes good books. That is all.

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify