washrag throat detected

2002-05-20

So the Boy ran out of his Nasonex over a week ago and declared that he doesn't think he needs it right now. He said he hasn't had much trouble and he thinks his allergies are over for the year. Fast forward to this weekend--Boy is unbelievably congested, and of course he waits until Saturday to say anything so that there are no doctors available to call for a refill. He mopes around and sniffles and blows his nose less often than would be optimal and we keep him doped up on decongestants that do nothing, as an interim measure. Francisco called the doctor this morning and they are calling in a prescription to our pharmacy. HOWEVER, I just realized this morning that I am getting a cold, and it feels like a mutha, so it is my hypothesis that Boy is mistaking a cold for allergies. Because he made such a ruckus about having allergies I didn't take the usual elaborate precautions to avoid touching things he's touched and et cetera, so voila! I am getting sick. I love that Boy, but I am convinced it was children, not rats, that spread the Black Death. Children are Gross.

When I talked to Francisco earlier he told me that the vintage orange linen I bought from eBay has arrived (that was FAST) and also I got my June Real Simple. I am SO going to lay up in the bed with the Real Simple this evening, feeling my washrag throat and sniffling piteously.

By the way, "washrag throat", in case I've never explained it, is my way of thinking about that pre-cold throat one gets that is sort of sore but in a weird way. To me it feels as though a washrag has been pulled through my throat, leaving behind minor destruction and mayhem.

I may just possibly be feverish.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify