the wiseass crack

2003-12-16

Official Tattoobelly quote of the day, as heard on CNN this morning: "What will it take to get this wiseass to crack?" -- Soledad O'Brien, responding to an interviewee telling her Saddam Hussein was answering questions in a wiseass fashion.

Hey, it's our wedding anniversary today--14 years. Let me tell you something, these have been the greatest 14 years ever, and Francisco is, hands down, the best part of my life. I feel so lucky to have met him, especially when you consider how many people there are in the world and the odds of meeting a person who is, for all intents and purposes, your soul mate. And then there are the odds of not only meeting that person but recognizing their potential, and what if that person is already involved with someone? I mean, these are huge odds, so it must've been fate, right?

We received two boxes of xmas gifts (wrapped) from my parents yesterday, and the cats are going apeshit over their gift. Esther drooled all over it and they won't leave it alone, so we had to put it away for now. I know there's catnip involved, and I can hardly wait until xmas eve, because I want to give it to them and watch them claw it open. They can be very entertaining, especially when high on catnip.

Yesterday I didn't come to work, due to being exhausted from not sleeping Sunday night. I mean, I slept a little, but not much, and I felt like crap so I called in a sick day. By the afternoon yesterday I felt good enough to go out and do the last of the xmas errands, and I'm glad I did it, though it was very wearying. I slept so good last night that I feel 150% better today. I woke up at 5:30 this morning and felt rested, so I got up and walked on the treadmill for the first time in way too long. I am ever so virile.

Alright, we must recap Survivor. I truly think the Pearl Islands Survivor was one of the best Survivors. I like Sandra and am glad she won, and I love/hate Johnny Fairplay very much; I think it's hilarious that he set out to be the most hated survivor, and mission accomplished. I'm glad Lill didn't win, because she was on my nerves during the last few episodes--too much whining and worrying. It's too bad Rupert didn't get farther in the game, but according to him it was all a great experience, so there you go. I hope Survivor keeps being this interesting in the future, because I'll probably watch it even if it's not. Just in case.

I read such a bizarre thing in Parasite Rex the other day. Apparently Crohn's Disease is a fairly new thing--people never got it until the 1930's [if I'm remembering correctly], and the disease started in NY. It has since spread across the US and to the other industrialized countries, but not the third world countries. Scientists think the reason the disease started was due to the eradication of intestinal parasites in the wealthy nations. Intestinal parasites secrete chemicals which make the immune system mellow out a little bit, so that the immune system will not attack the parasites. Without the parasites, the immune system can go a little nuts and attack the intestines (as with Crohn's Disease, which is an autoimmune thing), and there has been a recent study where some people with severe Crohn's were purposely given innocuous intestinal parasites, and all but one of them had full remission of the Crohn's. So if you have severe Crohn's Disease and no medication has helped you, you might want to look into getting some harmless parasites, for real. I don't know Where you'd get them, but maybe a doctor could hook you up. Parasites are pretty fascinating, but I still like viruses better. The two are very similar--they both use their hosts to replicate themselves--but something about viruses interests me more.

Francisco isn't going to his Shooty Shooty Rich and Fruity (as I like to call it) tonight, in deference to our anniversary, though we won't really be celebrating it tonight. We're going to wait until next month or maybe February, and do something really fun. So, we'll probably have the regular Tuesday night grilled cheese sandwiches, which is fine with me, and watch Angel. I just love that show, a lot, and I don't care what anyone says.

Hey, does anyone know if there's a nostril moisturizing product I can buy over the counter? I've needed to blow my nose so often, and the air is so dry, that I have a big old scab in my left nostril. This is Waaaay too much information, for anyone, but it hurts and I need some relief. I don't want to stick just any old thing up there, like lotion or bacon grease. There's Got to be a product, because there's a product for everything. Crest Whitestrips, I'm looking at you.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify