I am a virtuoso at playing the hurdy-gurdy

2004-03-09

Yesterday morning I arrived at work to find a thank-you note on my desk, from my coworker we had the shower for on Friday. I reproduce the note for you now, in its entirety:

Eva,

Thanks for the pampered feet set + body wash. My feet are tore up so I really need it.

Thanks again!

Amber & Mitch [names changed]

That note made me so happy yesterday morning, and again this morning when I was getting ready to leave the house and found it in my purse. I showed it to Francisco and he enjoyed it too--it's the feet tore up part that cracks me up. I will save it forever.

This morning we got a couple of emails from Francisco's brother in law--each contained a little film of the World's Greatest 2 Year-Old, our niece, Lou. Each film was her telling a joke; they were take one and take two--take one was better in terms of the telling of the joke, but take two was funnier. The joke is something like, "A grasshopper walks into a bar. The bartender says, "Did you know there's a drink named after you?", and the grasshopper says, "There's a drink named Dale?" We love the films for many reasons, but one cool thing is seeing Francisco's sister's expressions and gestures in Lou. Lou looks more like her dad than her mom, but so many of the facial expressions she makes are pure Elsee (or Twyla, as she is known in some circles). Very fun to watch.

Last night I decided I need to start making ridiculous assertions/statements about skills and abilities I do not have, just for fun. For instance, it would not be so hard to drop "I possess superhuman strength" into a conversation, would it? Or "I'm a master gardener"? Or what about, "I have an old soul"? I like that one because it's so vague and undisprovable. I'll let you know how the experiment goes.

Okay, so, people are now coming in freaking Droves to this diary through google searches for "I'm Rick James, bitch", and the diary is moving up through the ranks of google searches so that now the diary is #9 in search results. It was #12 this morning. Friends, is this a practical joke on me? Come clean--you can tell me.

This weekend we saw Starsky and Hutch (Saturday) and laughed a lot. I felt sorry for the youngsters in the audience who never saw the series, because I think they weren't getting the full enjoyment out of the movie, but whatever. Sunday the Boy and I saw Hidalgo, and I don't care what the critics say, I liked it. The main criticism of the film is that it was too long, but I liked the way the story was told more slowly than most movie stories, so those critics can shove it.

Along the lines of Starsky and Hutch, I can think of tons of other old 70s shows that would be funny as movies. Such as:

The A-Team

Dr. Shrinker

Land of the Lost

Zoom (this was Francisco's suggestion--genius)

Rhoda

Hawaii Five-0

Meh, there's lots of them. I would've put The Dukes of Hazzard on the list except that someone's already doing it. I'm bitter about that because I know whatever Dukes of Hazzard movie gets made will be disappointing, because it won't be Halee's Dukes of Hazzard movie. She had the brilliant idea of casting Owen and Luke Wilson as Bo and Luke, plus Ben Stiller as Michael Knight from Knight Rider, and the basic story would be the General Lee would have to race Kit, the Knight Rider car. I think that's one of the best ideas ever, and it's the Dukes of Hazzard movie I want to see; not whatever lame-ass movie will eventually get made.

Running on home now.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify