R.I.P. welders of the world

2002-02-21

People, I don't even know how to start. If you know me at all, you'll know that I work for a very assy man who frequently does aggravating things for reasons that are not readily apparent, but today. Today, he did something that left me slowly shaking my head for about an hour and a half. Today his assyness blew all his previous assyness clean out of the water. Get this: I had mentioned in my diary previously that I have a coworker who is quitting, and she had given the boss her resignation but hadn't actually announced it to the office. She announced it today, and said that she is leaving to pursue metalworking, which has been her hobby, as a full-time career. I don't recall if I told you, but the boss hates when people quit. He always, always has to say something to imply that the person's reasons for leaving are not sound, and that the person is Making A Mistake. He thinks he's very sneaky when he does this, but I can see through him like cellophane, as can most other people. Everyone was asking Heidi (her name is Heidi--we might as well call her that) about the metalworking, and people are excited for her. The boss asked her if this would be a moneymaking career or just kind of a prolonged hobby, which was a little snarky, but that was to be expected. Heidi said that, in fact, metalworkers make an average of $70/hour, so yes, it would be something she would make money at. He asked her what the metalworking involved and she said mainly welding, to which he replied [and Finally we've arrived at the point], "OH--well, you should know that the life expectancy for welders is very low. It's a very dangerous occupation, so you should be sure to be very careful." He then expounded on this theme for what seemed like several minutes, and my head had already started shaking. I interrupted him to say, "Congratulations, Heidi--Wooooo!", which probably didn't sit well with bossman, since he was into the nitty gritty of his speech about the hazards of welding, but you know, he can just suck it. I can't believe he would go so far as to actually imply--heavily imply--that Heidi is going to die young, BECAUSE SHE'S LEAVING THIS OFFICE. I am cursing my slow brain, because later I thought of something to shut him up, namely to point out that stress has a huge negative impact on a person's health, and that Heidi is surely prolonging her life by leaving the office. I will get my chance to say this someday, because after she leaves, he will badmouth her. He badmouths everyone who leaves, and I'm sure Heidi will be no exception. I have stopped physically shaking my head by now today, but mentally, I am still shaking it.

On to happier things: Did you watch the Olympics last night? I have kind of gotten into the Olympics, now that I'm reconciled to the temporary loss of The West Wing. When I turned on the Olympics last night, it was women's skeleton, and I have to say, if there's a ballsyer sport in existence, I don't want to know about it. And as a woman, I am particularly impressed by women who compete in the skeleton, because the thought of hurling myself onto a sled that will zoom through twists and turns at 70 mph makes me feel a little ill. I am so proud of the women who are brave enough to do that--all the women; not just the Americans. I want to give them all presents. We also watched some of the men's short track speed skating, and I love that. I love to watch the 6 guys skating, drafting each other. They make me think of schools of fish, because of the fluid way they follow each other's movements. I also love looking at their thighs, and frankly I would like to bite their asses--their asses look as though they would be crunchy, like apples. But I digress.

I took Boy to The Count of Monte Cristo yesterday afternoon, and we both loved it. The whole time, I was thinking about how much Francisco would like the movie, and I was sorry he wasn't there to enjoy it, but it was fun anyway. Guy Pearce was such an excellent Bad Guy; I am very impressed by his acting. What a great movie, it is definitely worth seeing. Before the movie started, there was a trailer for some upcoming movie that stars Tim Allen, but surprisingly, doesn't look like a massive piece of shit. Only time will tell, of course. I mention it because that guy who played Putty on Seinfeld is also in it, and I just have to say, sure thing, Joe Mayo.

Songs I Am Loving Lately

1. 'The Roof is on Fire' - Cake

2. 'Shake Senora' [I think that's the title] - Harry Belafonte

3. 'Tico Tico' - Isabelle Boulay

4. 'South American Way' - Carmen Miranda

5. 'Seven Bridges Road' - Eagles

6. 'Last Nite' - The Strokes

There are more, but no need to list them all. Would anyone like to recommend songs I should listen to? I will take any and all suggestions. Guestbook or email me, por favor.

Earlier today there was a birthday fiesta for the boss, and I don't want to talk about it too much, but I can sum up by saying it was too much hoopla and basically amounted to a lot of ass-kissing. The Only reason I'm mentioning it is because there was a crazy amount of food present at this fiesta, and it was only 10:30 in the morning. It is times like that when it's hard to be on a diet, and not because of the food. It's because every woman in the office has declared herself on a diet, but every woman in the office ate cake and all the other junk food available. And I'm not trying to pat myself on the back, At All, but I didn't eat the food, and that's why it was hard. The other women made small comments, not to say that I am snobby for not eating the food, but to deprecate themselves for eating, and I felt funny about it. I didn't eat the food because I have made a commitment to do Body For Life, and today is not my free day. If I ate the food, I wouldn't feel good about it, and that's a really good reason, in my opinion, for abstaining. I don't know, I don't understand people sometimes--why did the other women feel the need to put themselves down for having cake? I could care less if they have cake or don't have it, so why should they say Anything about it? By not having cake, I was not trying to represent myself as being better than they are--I was just quietly not having cake. I'm not mad, I'm just puzzled. People are so complicated.

Not a lot going on tonight. I think Francisco and I will do some grocery shopping, since the cupboard is getting pretty bare. I can't believe it's Thursday already; this week has gone by very fast. I don't have any weekend plans, but I know I will have to clean my house because it's been a couple weeks since I cleaned anything. You might recall some big talk from me about cleaning the bathroom earlier this week, but that didn't happen. Therefore, it must happen this weekend, which also means that I cannot play Tetris this weekend, as the two are mutually exclusive.

I don't have any more time to update today, so I will quit. I have to tell you, work is speeding up quite rapidly lately, and it's a shock to my system. I had gotten used to having very little to do, and now that I have a lot to do, I'm having to remember how to manage my time again. Possibly my updates for the next 3 months will be short, but I am committing to update every weekday if at all possible. I don't want to update on the weekends, even though I have the technology. When I'm off work, I want to do real-life stuff, not virtual stuff. Real life stuff is more satisfying to me.

I wish you much happiness,

Love,

E

PS Is it just me, or are the Olympic medals really hideous this year? |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify