Crazy Linda

2001-11-02

I like that it's Friday today. I'm working through my lunch hour (well, if updating my diary on the sly counts as 'work') and leaving at 4:00. I have no special reason for leaving early; it just sounds good. Last night Francisco and I cleaned the floors--he vacuumed and I mopped--and Boy cleaned the bathroom that is considered his. Now I just need to clean the bathroom considered Francisco's and mine, and dust the furniture, and then I'll be able to say, with the same dramatic flair that little woman in Poltergeist had, "This house.....is Clean." Boy is having his friend Tony spend the night tonight, though, so the house won't be clean very long. Kids, and especially boys, are So messy. If I weren't an anal-retentive person it wouldn't bother me, but I am, so I have to work at not caring. Beer will help.

Survivor last night was pretty good, though not Quite as good as last week. I am happy Crazy Linda was voted out, because she got on my nerves, but really there are very few members of Samburu who don't. The only one who doesn't is Kim P, and she's laying low. Did you see the next week teaser? It heavily implied that some weird change, never before seen on Survivor, is going to happen, and (naturally) I have a guess as to what it is. My official prediction is Either that the tribes will each be forced to trade a certain number of members to the other tribe, or that somehow a third tribe will be formed out of members from both tribes. I'm looking forward to seeing what the real deal is.

Francisco emailed me a few minutes ago to suggest we take Boy and Tony to see Monsters, Inc. tonight, and that sounds like a good plan. Hopefully the movie will be good; it looks like it could be.

Otherwise this weekend I don't really have any plans. I think I will finally assemble the marble magnets I want to give as stocking-stuffers this year; I might as well. Also I should call the naked race organizing woman and ask her some questions so that I can finally write the article.

I'm going to turn 34 later this month, and I have been regretting that I haven't done anything big this year. I have a superstition that double-number age years (11, 22, 33--you get the picture) should be years in which big things happen, and nothing big has happened while I've been 33. But. I was thinking this morning about my Diaryland diary and how much I enjoy writing in it, and how really I think it's been great practice writing. I was thinking that it's helped me find my "voice", which I know sounds painfully pretentious, but is true. And then it hit me: *That's* the big thing I've done this year! I found my voice! I almost wept with gratitude.

I'm so hopped up on caffeine right now, and I'm loving it. I drank a cup of coffee and that wasn't enough so I had a Mountain Dew. The sugar from that is good too. I'm leaving in an hour and a half, so I should stop writing now and do the things that must get done today.

Have a good weekend and be happy,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify