new underpants

2002-04-22

I've been sad all weekend about Layne Staley, and I'm not sure why I'm this sad. I mean, I love Alice in Chains, and I guess I was hoping they'd get back together, but that's not the reason. He was my age--34--but that's not the reason either. I think I'm sad because he must've been a lonely person. He was dead "several days" before the police were called, and this indicates he didn't have anyone in his life who would notice his absence, or at least not immediately. Also, the way Layne died (heroin overdose--duh. Who couldn't guess that before the official cause of death was announced this morning?) makes me think about my brother and whether he will end up overdosing. If he keeps using it seems likely, and it's such a waste.

Francisco went to high school with Layne and I asked him this morning what Layne was like in high school. He said Layne was one of those guys who went around saying, "This is all bullshit, man!"; he thought high school was a waste of time. Francisco and Layne weren't Friends or anything--they weren't on a "dude" basis, as Francisco put it this morning--but they had friends in common, so they kind of knew each other. R.I.P., Layne Staley, wherever you are.

Okay, so on to happier things. I got some new underpants this weekend! I got 4 pairs to test drive, and they are different than my standard cotton Jockey string bikini panties. Specifically they are uglier and not as comfortable. They looked cute in the store, but on the body they're too big; like grandma underpants. Me no likey at this time, but I will probably take them to France because they are not cotton and they will dry quickly when washed and hung to dry. Maybe they'll grow on me by then. Not literally, one would hope.

Speaking of the trip, we've decided to give Germany a miss this time around. We will be trying to travel every summer (we'll save money all year for that purpose), so we can go to Germany another time; maybe next summer. We're going mainly to France, but we're still going to Amsterdam because it's a cool place, but also because (and this will surely brand us as total geeks forever) there is a flower and garden show to end all flower and garden shows going on this summer in Benelux. It's called Floriadeand it's held once every 10 years. We are the luckiest that it turns out to be this year! We're very excited! See? Geeks.

You must stop whatever you're doing immediately and go to this site. The whole site is good, but The Rudy Letters are just geniusy. I spent almost an hour reading them Friday afternoon at work and laughing furtively. Seriously, these cannot be missed, if you have time.

I don't think I mentioned it, but my father-in-law was the only person I ever knew who had a sandwich named after him. It was called "The Brosie", because his middle name was Ambrose, and he would call the deli in question every day when he wanted lunch and say, "Brosie" and hang up. They would make the sandwich and he would go to the deli and pick it up. Isn't that nutty? He was a creature of habit and a funny man.

This morning Boy reminded me that today is Earth Day and he was told to wear "an environmental t-shirt" to school. I had him find a plain white t-shirt in his t-shirt drawer, and I wrote "Earth Day 2002" on the front in permanent marker, and "I Like Dirt" on the back. This was my second choice. I wanted to write "I likes me the dirt" on the front and "�the snakes, not so much" on the back. Francisco vetoed that shirt on the grounds that we shouldn't make fun of the rednecks, because there are plenty of them at Boy's school. I guess life is full of little compromises.

I have a new goal in life--you wanna hear it? I want to attend the Figure 8 Schoolbus Races in Bithlo, Florida. There was a segment on CBS Sunday Morning yesterday about the races, and they don't just race schoolbuses, they also race cars with trailers (either actual trailers or boats or really just cars pulling things). Naturally there are lots of crashes, and the races are preceded by a demolition derby. I really liked that one demolition derby I went to, and I've been hankering for another. Bithlo, here I come! [someday]

You know that new song by No Doubt, called 'Hella Good'? It is. The video is really cool in an over the top, pretentious late-80's way. I cannot get enough.

Francisco and I went to World Market this weekend and Francisco saw salty licorice--a Danish treat. I like licorice so I encouraged him to purchase it and we ate some. The first piece was terrific--I loved it. The second piece scared the crap out of me, because suddenly I couldn't get the smell of ammonia out of my nose. This turned out to be because the licorice contains Ammonia Chloride. Why the hell would you put that in a food? It seems inadvisable, in my opinion. Francisco didn't seem to mind tasting ammonia, and he sure went through enough of that licorice. I would have too, if it was sans the ammonia. Other than that it was pretty tasty.

This weekend Boy had Tony spend the night Friday night, and the movie/mall plan worked beautifully. Tony didn't aggravate me nearly as much as he has sometimes because I adopted the strategy of pretending I could not hear him when he wasn't talking to me. Much better. Saturday morning we took Tony home and were heading to Costco directly afterwards. Tony's mom asked Boy what he was going to do that day and Boy said go to Costco, so Tony's mom invited him to stay for the day. The plan was to pick him up at 5, and that was fine with us. At 4:45 Boy called home to say they'd invited him to stay the night, so we said okay and Francisco took him some clothes and a sleeping bag and toothbrush. Boy didn't come home until 5 last night, so it was a weird weekend without him, but we got a lot done. I even mopped the kitchen and bathrooms, and that is so unlike me.

We talked to Boy yesterday about the revised plan for his summer. He wasn't that disappointed to not be going to Oregon, since his dad is going into the Army soon and won't be in Eugene this summer, and also since his grandparents will be coming out here. He said the thing he will miss the most is seeing his grandparents' cat. Not his mom and cousins, mind you, but the cat. He's a funny boy. We also, yesterday, gave him the option of attending summer camp for a 4-week session instead of a 2-week session, and he said "yes!" instantly. He'll go for all of July, basically, instead of the first two weeks of August. It'll be a blast, I know, and we've got to get cracking on the packing list, because the camp requires campers to bring many things, and in a trunk or footlocker. He'll be there for his birthday, so we'll need to make sure the camp will make some sort of acknowledgment of that. Hopefully they'll do birthday cake and the happy birthday singing, because I would hate for the day to pass without comment.

Lots of people in to see me today, sugars, so I must go. One kid a few minutes ago was absentmindedly straightening things on my desk, which is amusing to me. Let's see what fresh hell the afternoon has to offer.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify