impending trough lunch

2002-12-17

I didn't have time to update yesterday; sorry. I was getting my work caught up so that (hopefully) I won't have a last-minute scramble today before leaving town tomorrow. It was our anniversary--Lucky 13--but we didn't go out last night, since we're going to The Santaland Diaries tonight. Francisco and I went to lunch at a nearby good Mexican restaurant, which was really fun, and it was enough to mark the day. I am So looking forward to the play tonight, especially since The Boy has never been to one before. I think we'll have a great time.

The weekend was spent doing things that needed to be done, and not surprisingly Francisco got Way more done than I did. I dislike this about myself, but when I get stressed I tend to get paralyzed, especially when I'm stressed about traveling. I like to travel, but I really dislike leaving home. Isn't that ridiculous? Once I'm gone I'm fine, but beforehand I worry excessively about the cats and also about flying. I used to actually Enjoy flying, but somewhere along the way it has started to scare me. So, once we're on the west coast I'll be happy and unstressed, but right now I'm worrying ludicrously.

Something I'm worrying about that is Not related to traveling is my boss's 5 year review. His boss asked for feedback about my boss from a variety of people, including myself and all my coworkers. He wanted it by last Friday and I didn't have time to get it to him, but when I got to work yesterday there was a second email asking for feedback if it had not already been submitted. I decided to go ahead and write something and fax it over (anonymously, of course) and while I did say some positive things about my boss's managerial style, I also said what bothers me about him. I know my boss does not take criticism well, because I was here for his last 5 year review. At that time I had only been working here a few months and I was still under the impression that he was a nice guy. The scales fell from my eyes, permanently, about 3 1/2 years ago, so for this 5 year review I have something to say. He's meeting with his boss for the review tomorrow, which makes me think we could not have timed our vacation better. He's going to be angry to hear criticism (which others gave as well), so I'm happy to be out of the office for that. Hopefully he'll have cooled off before I get back.

Francisco did a funny thing this weekend. He had put the dishes in the dishwasher but left all the icky food stuff in the sink strainers, as is his way. I wrote a smartass note about the sink strainer fairy needing to visit and then I went to the library. When I got back the strainers were cleaned and there was glitter sprinkled around the sink. I thought that was amusing.

Hey, I might have big news to share after Christmas but I'm not going to talk about it now because I'm afraid to jinx it. I can tell you definitively that I am not having a baby or anything like that, but the news will [hopefully!!] be just as good. If I don't have big news to share, then I'll tell you what I hoped for anyway but not just yet. Probably stupid to say anything right now, but I'm hopeful and cautiously excited.

In a few minutes the office is going to do the 'secret santa' gift exchange. I like this, mostly, but am always sort of apprehensive because I'm really not a good actor. If I hate the thing I'm given I'm not sure I can adequately fake liking it. I did okay last year with the smiley face mood jewelry but I don't know that I can do it 2 years in a row. I'll give it my best shot, should it be necessary. I'm also a horrible fake laugher--if I don't think something is funny but try to do the courtesy laugh, it is too obvious. I'm never going to win an Oscar, that's for sure. I can erase that from my life's To Do list.

Not feeling very witty this morning. I didn't sleep quite enough and should probably drink more coffee. The office is doing the holiday lunch today (going out this time instead of a potluck, thank god), and we're going somewhere I've never been, but I've heard it's one of those Big Food places. The kind of restaurant where they give you enough food for 2 people; I hate those places, they are soooo Ugly American. I think in protest I'll order a salad and appetizer, because I don't want a big platter in front of me--it makes me think of a trough. Oink oink.

I guess that's all I've got right now. Not in a bad mood or anything; just feeling kind of bland. If anything outrageous happens today I'll update again. I Hope something happens, because I need the excitement. So here's to hoping...

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify