it's quiet....TOO quiet

2005-04-01

You know what makes me very angry? Realizing I can tell which Olsen twin is Mary Kate and which is Ashley*. Come ON, I should not be able to do that! I am officially going on strike against looking at pictures of them; "Just don't look" is my motto from now on.

Something which makes me the direct opposite of very angry is that one of my favorite people ever, Andreas Novak, has started a blog. This is a banner day for all who enjoy reading excellent and amusing blogs, let me tell you. You would be wise to bookmark his blog, but I'm not trying to tell you what to do.

Yesterday I didn't post an entry because when I finally had time to write one, I was seething with rage at my boss and didn't feel like it. I would go into what was making me seethe with rage, except he is pointedly not talking to me today and that makes me paranoid. Usually when he's mad at me I know what he's mad about, but this time it's a complete mystery. One minute he's talking to me, the next he isn't, so who knows. I've thought about it but I've got no idea and I guess I should just enjoy the quiet but it's irksome. This morning I was thinking I should make a point of talking to him so he'd be forced to talk back, but over the course of the day my thinking has changed and I'd rather just leave it alone.

R.I.P. Mitch Hedberg--he was funny. Some of my favorites of his jokes include:

"I love blackjack. But I'm not addicted to gambling. I'm addicted to sitting in a semi circle. "

"My friend was walking down the street and he said, "I hear music." As if there is any other way of taking it in. "

"I don't own a cell phone or a pager. I just hang around everyone I know, all the time. If someone needs to get ahold of me they just say, "Mitch," and I say, "what" and turn my head slightly. "

"I wrote a letter to my dad - I wrote, "I really enjoy being here," but I accidentally wrote rarely instead of really. But I still wanted to use it so i crossed it out and wrote, "I rarely drive steamboats, dad - there's a lot of shit you don't know about me. Quit trying to act like I'm a steamboat operator." This letter took a harsh turn right away..."

"I had a bag of fritos, they were texas grilled fritos. These fritos had grill marks on them. They remind me of something, when we used to fire up the barbeque and throw down some fritos. I can still see my dad with the apron on, better flip that frito, dad, you know how I like mine. "

"You know they call corn-on-the-cob, "corn-on-the-cob", but that's how it comes out of the ground. They should just call it corn, and every other type of corn, corn-off-the-cob. It's not like if someone cut off my arm they would call it "Mitch", and then re-attach it, and call it "Mitch-all-together". "

"I got my hair highlighted, because I felt some strands were more important than others."

"I use the word totally too much. I need to change it up and use a word that is different but has the same meaning. Mitch, do you like submarine sandwhiches? All-encompassingly... "

"I like rice. Rice is great if you're hungry and want 2000 of something."

I can't say I will truly miss Mitch Hedberg, because I didn't personally know him and didn't see him perform often enough to be a hardcore fan, but it makes me sad when someone so talented dies so young (37).

On Wednesday at Target, I not only found a couple of cute shirts to buy, but also no one stole my cart (win/win!). This is because I didn't use a cart--cunning, eh? I almost bought a fishing pole, because I found one that seemed good (though lawd knows I'm not sure what to look for in a pole) and I liked the way the reel worked. I carried it all over the store and was on the verge of checking out before realizing, DUH, Francisco will want to fish too, so I couldn't buy just one pole, but I also knew he would want to choose his own pole, for he has a penis and its presence dictates he must choose all his own gear. We'll shop for fishing poles together sometime, but as dog is my witness, I'm going to choose my own pole without any advice or interference from Mr. Testosterone. Resolved!

No plans for the weekend other than the usual. We finished all but one episode of Deadwood, so this weekend will involve a lot less television. This is about all I can tell you for today.

Love,
E

*I am also angry that I know their names. GRRRRR! |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify