it boggles the mind

2002-08-02

Okay, so you know how I have the day off work? Boy's friend Tony had made plans to "treat" Boy to a movie this afternoon, as a late birthday gift. So Boy calls Tony this morning to talk about the movie plans, and Tony asks Boy WHAT TIME WE'RE PICKING HIM UP. Buh?! Tony apparently has been under the impression that Francisco was taking them to the movie, which Francisco would not have agreed to, since he is in an all-day meeting for his Fall job. But Tony told his mom we were taking them to the movies, and so I feel I should take them to the damn movies, because I guess Boy is spending the night at Tony's house tonight--something Boy didn't know either. This is sort of blowing my afternoon off and I'm not particularly pleased, but I'm not really mad either--just kind of resigned.

The problem, I think--and I have not said, and will not say, this to Boy--is that Tony is dumb as a post. He really is, and I feel sort of sorry for him, but it's annoying because this is not the first time he has gotten something wrong and probably made his mom irritated with me or Francisco for something that is not our fault. I know she doesn't like me very much, and I don't like her either, because I make it a policy never to like people who don't like me.

I have told Boy that he needs to bring enough money to the movie to buy his own ticket, because at this point I sure don't know what Tony meant by "treating" Boy to a movie. It's a mystery.

Enough with that. I'm going to go take a shower and get ready to chauffeur the children around. Huzzah.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify