so young and yet so annoying

2001-11-05

I had a good idea on Saturday, while I was walking on the Bait & Switch treadmill at the gym. I decided that if I ever had to have a limb amputated, for whatever horrible reason, I will wait for the area to heal up and then I will get a funny tattoo next to it. Like, if I had to get my leg amputated below the knee or something, I could have the following tattooed on my leg above the stump:

MISSING LEG!

Last seen February 11, 2070 [using 2070 as anti-jinxing example]

Caucasian calf, ankle, and foot

Toenails painted red

Big REWARD

and then an arrow pointing downward at the stump

Francisco said a person could just get the generic "Insert Tab A into Slot B" on the remaining limb, and probably less is more, but I think I'd go with the big funny tattoo. Of course I really really don't want to have anything amputated, but it doesn't hurt to have a plan, just in case.

This picture is big and it'll probably make the entry screwy to read, but this is Lucia [btw, they're pronouncing it Loo-see-uh], my new niece! She's a little red and squidgy in the picture, but she was quite freshly born, so we must make allowances. Hopefully I'll receive a picture of her in the pumpkin hat soon, because they got the hat and it fits her perfectly.

Well, except for Friday night, it was a great weekend. And Friday night would've been good if not for the presence of Boy's friend Tony. That kid is just the most obnoxious, ignorant 10 year old jackass it has been my displeasure to spend time with. He has ridiculous opinions and he voices them (loudly--he is a loud talker) and argues when we disagree with him. And we can't Not disagree with him, because he's just So Wrong. Let me give you an example from Friday night. Tony took it upon himself to inform us that the Ice Age is a hoax. He says some people at his church told him it's a hoax, and that his mom thinks it's a hoax, so he thinks it is too. He refused to even listen to us when we told him there is Mucho scientific evidence to support the existence of the Ice Age. He also told us that Native Americans did Not come to North and South America on an ice bridge; rather Tony believes they sailed here from Japan, and that the Vikings were in North America before Native Americans. Um....Hello?!! I didn't even know where to start with that one, but again, Tony didn't listen to my opposing opinion anyway. Saturday morning was the final nail in Tony's coffin. Saturday morning he made racist comments about Mexican people (there are many Mexican/Central American immigrants in our area), saying they are rude and they stare at him (which I highly doubt). It was all I could do not to say they were probably staring at him because they'd never seen such a well-fed, moronic little cracker in all their lives, but I managed to hold that in. It will be a long time before that child visits my house again. I know he's a kid and maybe I should cut him some slack, but forget it. I reserve the right to dislike all ignorant bigots, no matter how young they might be. I don't really want to allow Boy to visit Tony's house, should he be invited, because I don't want him to be further exposed to Tony's racist and/or stupid opinions, but I don't feel like I can say no if Tony invites him. For some reason Boy likes Tony and values his friendship, and I don't want to take that away from him.

I spent too much time on the Tony thing, so I have to rush the rest of my update. Saturday afternoon we visited the new Borders and got a few books. Well, Francisco and Boy got books, but virtuously, I just got a magazine. I actually don't like buying books unless they are non-fiction, because it's so easy to check out fiction for free at the library. And I'm a little particular about the fiction I like to read, so I dread buying it because if I don't like it, I've wasted money. Kind of dumb of me, I know. Francisco made a good dinner Saturday night. He made pork roast and roasted potatoes, plus steamed broccoli. I set the coffee table with a cloth and candle and cloth napkins, and it was nice. We watched Trading Spaces on Saturday night, and if you watch that show, are you liking Paige? Because I'm not liking Paige. I find her tres grating. She's trying to be like Alex, but she's not getting it. She doesn't show any interest in the projects; she just keeps saying "What are you doing?!" "Why aren't you finished yet?". Paige = bad. Alex = good. I don't think Paige will be a long-term member of the Trading Spaces family.

Sunday morning the three of us played an epic game of Monopoly. We laughed So much during the game; mostly at Boy's pathetic attempts to not lose. He did lose, as did I, because Francisco has a ruthless streak you would not believe. I like the version of Monopoly we play--we do a lot of bartering, which I don't believe is in the original rules, but it works for us. It was really fun.

My friend Dynamiterave had his hair dyed purple this weekend, and I am very proud of him. Stay tuned to his diary in the next few days, because I am told there will probably be pictures.

I feel done now. Love to all,

E

PS Oh, I went to the library yesterday and got a lot of good books. I got a book on tape to listen to while driving, and I got it purely because I have heard a lot of people mention it and I've never read it. It is The Celestine Prophecy. I don't know yet, I just don't know. It is supposed to be fiction but it's reminding me too much of old short films about hygiene or the importance of copper in these modern times. Like a lecture in disguise. I'm going to listen to the whole thing, because I want to give it a chance, but so far, Eh. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify