everybody look at your hands

2005-06-10

This morning, Francisco, who is preparing to win the Carolina Cup (revolver division) this year (like he did last year) told me that yesterday when he was at the gun range, test-running the various stages of the Cup with his fellow safety officers, there was a stage called Protect The Peach!. "The Peach" is a nickname for moonshine, so basically one stage of the Cup is all about stopping people from stealing your ho-made liquor. THIS IS TOTALLY RAD.

Yesterday I completely forgot to provide a song of the day, so I'll make up for it today by pointing you over to Music For Maniacs, which currently has a small (but Excellent) selection of lounge-y covers of rock songs. I'm not sure which song is my favorite, but it just might be the cover of Safety Dance, because hello, the sitar! I also really like Paul Anka's cover of Wonderwall, though I didn't really like that song when Oasis did it. HA-ha, Oasis! Paul Anka sings your song better than you do! In my opinion!*

A few days ago, our neighbor came over and gave Francisco (I was at work) a key to her house, because she was going out of town for a couple of weeks, and she doesn't want us to do anything for her, but she thought it would be a good idea for someone to have a key to her house in case it caught fire or something. Apparently Sharky turned to Francisco the second our neighbor went back to her house and said, "THAT'S where I'm having my birthday party!" He funny. He's actually having his birthday party at our house, next Friday, and it's not his birthday until July 12, but his main friend is going to be out of town on his birthday proper, so he's having it early. It'll be low-key--his main friend and one other friend I've never met--sleeping over, and we'll take them to a movie or something on Friday and provide various other entertainments and tantalizing foodstuffs. It'll probably be fairly headache-inducing, but I can put up with Anything for just one night.

Here's a good breakfast: Put 1/3 cup of rolled oats into a microwave-safe bowl, add a pinch of salt and 2/3 cups of water and microwave it on half power for 4 minutes and 45 seconds. Hopefully this will cook the oats thoroughly--I can't say for sure since microwaves vary in power. Assuming your oatmeal is cooked, stir in about a teaspoon of peanut or cashew butter, a teaspoon of apricot jam (or jam of your choice) and a small handful (couple of tablespoons, approximately) of dried date pieces. Instead you could use some dried coconut or other dried fruit, and the jam is not mandatory, but the nut butter is key. I think the official serving of rolled oats is 1/2 a cup, dry, but that's too many oats for me. When I used to make oatmeal according to the directions on the carton, I was always too full and every time I had it I never wanted to eat oatmeal ever again, but 1/3 cup is about right.

Francisco booked me a flight and reserved me a rental car for my trip out west (he's the BEST--I don't know what I'd do without him). I'm flying out on the 29th, to Portland (OR) and will drive my rented car south to Eugene, getting in around 9 that night. My mom is surely not happy about this (I emailed her earlier today) because she wanted to pick me up from the airport, but number one, it's a two hour drive, one way, and number two, my flight back leaves at 1:00 in the morning on July 4 (when I was young and didn't know anything, I thought "red eye" flights sounded kind of adventurous and cosmopolitan, but now I know they're just annoying). I will not allow my mom to drive me to the airport when she should be sleeping; she needs her rest.

Work is still busy and all the chaos is making me forget stuff I should remember, or Think I forgot stuff when really I didn't, and basically I'll be glad when next Friday rolls around, because the worst will be past. I'm taking work home this weekend in an attempt to make next week a little better, so that will keep me busy this weekend while Francisco is saving the peach.

Have a great weekend!
Love,
E

* Please to not be sending me the hate mails. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify