Tetris fever

2001-12-17

Saturday night we allowed Boy to open another gift (he's been opening one per day), and he chose the PlayStation game Francisco had picked up for him: Tetris. Yesterday I played Tetris and I didn't want to stop. I wanted to play Tetris until I fell over dead. This morning when my alarm went off I was sad until I realized I might be able to play some Tetris before work. And then when I played, I wanted to keep playing and call in sick to work so I could just play and play and play. To sum up, I really love Tetris.

I have been so emotionally unstable the past few days. I think it's hormonal, but I think I also have a mild cold my body is battling, and I think it's making things worse. Basically I'm really moody, and on Saturday I even had a minor Raisinette/Mt. Dew-induced psychotic episode. "Psychotic episode" = that I sort of freaked out with stress and threw things and sobbed piteously for 20 minutes. After 40 minutes of watching M*A*S*H while knitting on The Blanket, I was okay, but sometimes I scare myself when I get so upset and I know there isn't any reason for it.

Otherwise on Saturday, in the morning I took Boy to his Aikido and rode a recumbent bike and walked on the treadmill for a little over an hour while he kicked and punched. Later I went to the grocery store and the dry cleaner, and it was when I got home from this errand that I had my little freak-out. After the freak-out and subsequent calm-down, I worked on cutting out pictures for the additional 100 magnets we were making. I think I got about 50 little circular pictures cut out, and also I did some laundry, and then it was time to get ready for our Evening Out. We had engaged a 14 year old girl who lives just a few houses up from us to babysit, and she came over to stay with Boy, while we went to meet friends for dinner. We had Thai food, and it was outstanding. After dinner we went to a concert given by the Carrboro and Chapel Hill Concert Choir. There was also a small orchestra there; I don't know who they were exactly, because I didn't get a program and didn't read through the one Francisco had swiped. I'll tell you, the music was really great; I loved it. There were Magnificats by Bach and someone else that I can't remember right now, and the singing and instrumental music were wonderful. I love violins. If you were going to learn an orchestral instrument, what would it be? I think I would want to play the bass or cello; they make fabulous noises. We got home from the concert at about 10:30, and the babysitter was sleepy, but I think she liked staying with Boy. Who wouldn't? Definitely easy money.

Sunday morning was nice. Francisco made eggs scrambled with bacon, and toast to go with it, and he and I drank a lot of coffee and we all watched CBS Sunday morning. This is my favorite way to start Sundays, except maybe for going out to breakfast when I'm really hungry. While Sunday Morning was on I cut out the remaining magnet pictures, and I also worked on The Blanket for awhile. Later in the morning Francisco and I assembled the magnets, and then he dyed my hair. We played Tetris while the dye worked its magic. After my hair was dyed, I went to the library to get books to read on the plane and in Seattle. I spent the rest of the evening playing Tetris and working on The Blanket, which by the way, didn't get finished this weekend but I think I can finish it tonight. Francisco and Boy went to the grocery store to get dessert and they came back with donuts and cookies. I hadn't had dinner (it was an 'every man for himself' dinner night), so I ate two donuts for dinner and it was great. I think I should have donuts for dinner more often.

Oh, I forgot to say we talked to Boy about his dad yesterday. We told him that his dad has relapsed and has to go through detox and rehab again, and Boy took the news well. After we told him, he wasn't talking much so I asked him what he thought/felt about his dad's drug addiction and relapse. He said, "To tell the truth, I don't think about it much, because I know it's not my problem; it's his". I think that is a very wise and mature position to take; especially for a ten year-old. That kid amazes me.

One other thing about yesterday, it was our 12th anniversary. And do you know, Francisco is so sick with his cold, and I am so stressed/involved with various projects that we both forgot. I mean, we remembered on Saturday that Sunday was our anniversary, but on Sunday it slipped both our minds. Our plan all along has been to actually celebrate our anniversary after the holidays are over, but one would think we would've remembered such an important day for us, on the day it actually occurred. These have been 12 very good years. Francisco is my best friend and I cannot imagine a better 12 years than he and I have had. Obviously it hasn't All been good, but honestly the vast majority has been, and for that I am very thankful.

I have more to tell, but I want to go home and play Tetris. Talk to you later,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify