soon we will need stillsuits

2002-08-08

Thank god for the naturally gossipy nature of children. I knew that once Boy was back from camp, he would hear which 13 year old boy in our neighborhood sexually assaulted the 7 year old girl last month (see this entry). I didn't ask him to find out who it was, but I knew he would, because kids talk. Kids overhear things and they tell their friends--they are like a petite spy network. The 13 year-old is exactly the kid I thought of when I heard about the incident. He is a Future Criminal of America, for sure, and it's too bad his dad, a deputy sheriff, isn't doing anything to correct his behavior. Boy said the kid has to go to court, and I guess we'll hear back later what happens from that. The sad thing is I can't imagine any outcome that will change this kid. I can't imagine him turning his life around if he is put into juvenile hall--he'll just get tougher and harder to reach. If he is returned to the neighborhood, he'll figure he got off scot free, and why would that make him change? I just don't know about things like this.

Dynamiterave has informed me, via guestbook, that we are not dorks for buying The Fellowship of the Ring on the day it is released. He says we would only be dorks if we waited outside a store until midnight on Monday night in order to buy it the second it was released (at 12:01 Tuesday a.m., I guess), so that's comforting. I don't think there were any stores in this area that opened their doors at 12:00 Tuesday morning for the purpose of selling The Fellowship of the Ring, but even if there were, we wouldn't have been there. So we are either normal or we are underachieving dorks. I'll leave it to y'all to decide.

When I got home last night, Boy was outside and he rushed to open my car door. He then beckoned me into the backyard where he showed me the fruits of Francisco's labor: He had done most of the long-pending backyard project. This involved many steps and I know he spent most of the day on it, and I am so grateful. It looks Fabulous. The main things he did were nailing trellis stuff to the deck and mulching the crap out of everything, but there were other things too involved to go into here. He's going to get another truckload of mulch today, and together we will spread that around tomorrow, when I am off work. We're going to plant things on the mulchy slope in the backyard, but we'll wait until Fall to plant, as our town is on Major Extreme Super-High Water Restriction Alert. Actually it's just called Level 5 water restrictions, but what that means is no one can use water outside, at all. For any purpose. Hopefully the water restrictions will ease before Fall, and at any rate, we will plant only drought-resistant things. And a fig tree. I'm not giving up the fig.

I've tried over and over to fix my archive thingy so that when you hit Reruns it will show all the entries, but I can't make it work. If you want to see any entries newer than 7/17, hit the Previous button. Not that anyone cares, I'm sure, but my inability to fix this is frustrating. I am following Andrew's instructions to the letter, but it's not working.

Once again today is my Friday, and it feels Good. I put out some minor fires this morning and feel fine about not being here tomorrow. I plan to sleep in a little bit (anything later than 6:30 is sleeping in) and work in the yard and do laundry and continue working on my quilt. I sure haven't gotten much done with that, but I need to. Otherwise this weekend, just the usual. Lots of relaxing and some cooking and exercise and movies. And beer. I forgot to mention we bottled another batch of beer last weekend--Francisco made it--and it should be ready to drink sometime next week. Until then we have cheap beer Francisco bought at Costco--something Chinese I think. We'll get by, don't worry about us. We are ridiculously brave.

Lots of people get my last name wrong. My previous last name, the one I had before I got married, was not so easy to get wrong, but this one I always have to spell. I'm used to the spelling now, since it's been almost 13 years with this name, and it cracks me up when people send me letters addressed to the entirely wrong name. After I spelled it for them. Twice.

West Wing last night was good, especially because my Fictional Super Secret Imaginary Boyfriend had a biggish story. Also I like that CJ threatened to shove a motherboard up Josh's ass. I don't know what it is about that show, but I bought the official West Wing book of the first two seasons last week and devoured it. I like knowing what happened during the first two seasons, even if I haven't seen the episodes yet. Hmm, I'm starting to think I am an underachieving dork.

I think that's all, and I have yogurt what needs to be eaten. Have a great weekend,

Love,

E

PS Dynamiterave, you should've grabbed Sally Ride's ass--That would've gotten her attention. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify