return of the soup lady

2004-11-02

About a week ago I decided I need to document all cat-initiated interactions over the course of one day (a day I'm home), because there are a lot of interactions. And by "cat" I mean just Lucy and Esther, though I do see the neighbor cat at least twice a day when he tries to get inside the house. If I had been doing the documentation today, it would've started like this:

2:00 a.m. Got up for glass of water; Lucy accompanied me to the kitchen, meowing softly. She then accompanied me to the living room computer and milled around the chair, receiving occasional petting, while I looked at a couple of websites and drank my water. I picked her up and took her into the bathroom with me while she purred and then she milled again while I peed, and followed me back to bed, where she kneaded the comforter wadded up at my hip because it was so damn hot.

4:10 a.m. Esther climbed onto my pillow, laid down and purred.

4:15 a.m. Lucy, apparently jealous of Esther's proximity to my head, bounded up to the pillow to lick Esther's head annoyingly, then hissed when Esther rebuffed her. When I sat up abruptly to whisper, "Kittens! Enough!" at them, Lucy scurried away from the pillow and resumed her position at my shin.

It was a long night, but that was actually my fault, as I was so bone-weary last night I went to bed at 8:00. I considered staying up until a more normal bedtime but just Really didn't want to. I think I might be fighting off a mystery bug, because I've had some...intestinal disturbances the past couple of days, as well as general malaise. I feel okay this morning, though my intestines seem to be making threatening rumblings; I will keep a good thought.

The lady who cleans our office told me this morning she and her boyfriend are going to vote after work, and they've never voted before, though they are old enough to have voted previously. They just didn't care enough until this election, and I'm so excited for her to be voting for the first time. Francisco and I were talking about the election this morning, and though the lead-up to the election has been a rollercoaster ride through Disinformation Valley and over Hater Mountain, I think ultimately it's been a good thing, no matter who wins (though naturally I have a strong preference). I think this because it's made formerly apathetic people care and become involved. People are making calls to remind others to vote, are driving strangers to go vote, and are helping people at the polls. The involvement is good and I have hopes it might carry forward to future elections, though of course there's no way to know if apathy will take over again. It might--human nature being what it is--but maybe not.

Did you notice how I'm not saying "get out and vote!"? I figure you've received enough encouragement to vote already, and if you still don't plan to vote then my telling you you should isn't going to do a damn thing. If you don't want to vote, fine, but if you don't vote you have NO RIGHT TO COMPLAIN if you don't like the way things go in the next four years. No vote, no bitching; those are the rules. *crosses arms and puts on resolute face*

I wrote all the above this morning, and since then I have started feeling Most Unwell. I've got a bad headache that's the main problem, but the malaise is also out in full force. I think I'll do a couple more things and then head on home. A few minutes ago Soup Lady (as she has come to be known, since she brought all that frozen soup this summer) dropped in and brought a load of cookies, plus a travel pillow (for me), coffee (for me), some weirdass birthday cards for children (for me, and I plan to distribute them to the next 4 people who have birthdays), and a little thing of candy (for me). She's a nice lady and her daughter is really sweet (though quite idealistic and a bit naive), but it's strange that she wants to bring me a bunch of stuff when she visits. I told her thank you and that she really, Really doesn't need to bring me things. I don't think she's going to stop.

Oy, my head.
Love,
E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify