well that's all sorted out [dusts hands]

2002-11-07

So I went to see Glenn last night and I talked to him about the phoenix. He happened to have some Asian art books with phoenixes in them, and he showed me one I really liked. He's going to alter it a bit to fit my lower back space better, and change the colors to brighter ones, and it will be perfect. I'm very excited! And can I say, if you live in the Triangle region in NC, and you ever want a tattoo, consider Glenn. He's such a nice guy. Robert the Piercer was there last night, working overtime on what looked to be the entire UNC Womens' Lacrosse team. I hope he made lots of money. The ear cartilage and the navels seemed to be the most popular piercings with those gals. And also? They're big fans of Wendy's frostys. Just so you know.

After we finished at Glenn's we had dinner (little pizzas, at this good place in Carrboro) and then home for the West Wing. I enjoyed the episode but it was not as frenetic as I'd expected. I thought election day on WW would be this high energy, frantic day, but it was fairly mellow. Boy fell asleep halfway through (as is his way) and had to be brought up to speed this morning. After WW, Francisco and I watched South Park, and when it was over I was so tired I didn't even want to get ready for bed. I had to force myself to wash my face and etc. Not sure why so tired that early, but I think it's because I'm trying not to get the family cold.

Two things about Boy: 1) His bully has moved on to another victim. No guarantee that he will not bully Boy ever again, but for now the situation is resolved. 2) Last night when we were sitting in the restaurant, Boy proclaimed that he wants to be a proctologist. We made sure he knew what a proctologist is, and then I suggested he could be a gynecologist instead. Francisco explained the nature of gynecology, and Boy? Boy said, "Oooh!!" He squealed. People, he's the funniest boy ever, bar none. We are so lucky.

We are also lucky to have a cat that likes to cuddle. Esther is an excellent cuddling cat. Last night she cuddled on my lap for about half an hour during West Wing. It was so nice; she was warm and purring like crazy. Lucy used to cuddle but she's such a jumpy cat, something would always scare her off me, and in the process she would accidentally claw me. Those back claws are vicious. I'm still open to cuddling with her, but she never seems to want to. Poor thing. Maybe I can get her to work back up to the cuddle. I should probably get her used to being tightly wrapped in a towel. For safety purposes.

I don't have much to talk about today. Francisco feels horrible--he has Boy's cold--and Boy doesn't feel well, but he never seems to get colds as badly as we do, especially Francisco. So I'll go home after work and figure out something comforting to make for dinner, and Survivor is on tonight, so we'll watch that. Also I will work on the neverending sweater. If I'm going to get this cold myself, I wish it would hurry up and strike me down in the night. I want to call in sick tomorrow.

By the way, when I said my throat was washraggy, I was using a term I've used before, that my sister and I came up with. It's that raw throat feeling, like a washrag was pulled through it and left a roughed-up throat surface. Anyone not familiar with our little term might be confused or horrified. Or something. The throat is better today--maybe this means I won't get the cold. And won't be able to call in sick. I could always call in sick and be Lying, but the few times I've done that, I have always gotten sick a few days later, for real. So I think I won't tempt fate this time.

That's about all I have today, kittens. Talk to you later.

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify