don't eat it if it's yellow

2002-01-04

Snow!! Lots and lots of snow! Enough snow to close my employer yesterday and today, so I�ve been home. I meant to write an entry yesterday; I started one, in fact. But then I got distracted by Tetris and reading, and Trading Spaces and Tetris and reading, and then more Tetris and Survivor. I am truly a Renaissance woman. Survivor last night was sort of interesting, but I was so unbelievably vexed to learn that the players passed up their chance last week to get rid of Lex. What were they thinking?! I didn�t watch last week, see, because I was on a plane, about halfway to Detroit at the time. So those fools didn�t vote Lex off, and then he won the truck and immunity, and now they�re kicking themselves, and they should be, because it�s likely he will continue to win immunity until the end. I think there is no way he�ll win the whole thing, because he is hated by too many of the jury�I think Ethan will win. It is my official prediction at this time, and though I hadn�t predicted it before, let the record show that before Survivor 3 even started, I chose Ethan as my favorite. He�s a cute boy.

I�m not a big fan of snow. We get it here in NC only about once every two years�a big snow, anyway. Last year we got a bit of snow, but it melted off fast and didn�t cause any problems. The year before that we got a truly large snow, and I couldn�t get to work for a week. There were two foot drifts in our driveway and our cul-de-sac, and we don�t have any kind of 4-Wheel drive thingy. And then when the snow was melting and the plow finally came through, what do you think happened? I got a killer flu from hell and was out for a whole other week. I laid in bed for 3 days straight, sleeping and being feverish and taking Tylenol and then sweating when the fevers broke. Oh I was pretty I tell you. But I digress. I used to like snow a lot, but now that there is the Boy to be considered, snow is not my friend. It keeps Boy out of school and it keeps him coming in and out of the house, tracking snow and mud onto the carpet. Yesterday Francisco and I told him to go pee in the woods when he had to pee, because we didn�t want him tromping through the house to the bathroom. �Go write your name in the snow�, we told him, and he did. Probably we are horrible parents.

We�ve been putting sunflower seeds out for the birds, and we�ve gotten a lot of takers. There is apparently a huge flock of cowbirds in the area, because earlier today we had no fewer than 40 of them at any one time out on the deck, scarfing up all the seed. Pests. But I�ve bitched about cowbirds before.

Also I�ve played about 5 hours of Tetris today�it sure is comforting to know I�m not wasting my life. I�m about as good now at Tetris as Francisco is, and it�s more fun to play with him, since I�m not losing all the time.

I had a whole bunch of things to talk about, left over from Wednesday�s entry, but I left my list at work, and now of course I can�t remember what I wanted to say. The whole reason I write things down to talk about is so I�ll be able to remember them, but if I don�t have them to refer to, I�m screwed. Here�s a thing�a couple weeks ago Francisco and I watched something on MTV, I think it was, on Drag Kings. I wouldn�t have thought that women could pass as men quite so well as men can pass as women, but I was wrong. It was very interesting.

Another thing I wanted to say was that I realized recently that all of the children I babysat in my youth are adults now, and that makes me feel rather old. The youngest of the kids I babysat is 18, and she was 8 months old when I took care of her. Weird to think that that baby is in college now, probably getting drunk and throwing up and stuff. Oy.

I went to the doctor on Monday and got some stuff for my skin. It is Metrogel, and so far I�m not having any problems with it�I guess some people are allergic, including my mom. I spoke to the doctor about my previous itchy nipple condition, and she said that it shouldn�t concern me, since an itchy nipple is not a symptom of breast cancer. I said that I know Padgett�s disease, a form of breast cancer, has itching as a symptom and she said, �well, you know more than I do, then�. How comforting. Otherwise I really liked her a lot, and will go back to her in a couple months for an annual exam. Yuck, but at least it�s only once a year.

I think Francisco is making chocolate chip cookies�he bought chocolate chips at the store and I can hear him clattering around downstairs in the kitchen. I think I�ll stay up here awhile so I don�t have to help.

Last week A&E was showing Pride and Prejudice, and their production of it is So Good. I missed the first couple of installments, but managed to see the last few. They were showing them at 9, but they were rerunning them at 1 a.m., and that was when I was watching them. Did I mention we were staying up to midnight, PST, while in Seattle? Once we got back home, I found it hard to go to bed before 3 a.m., so Pride and Prejudice came in right handy. Since I didn�t see the whole series, I reread the book, and when I finished that last night I started Sense and Sensibility. I love Jane Austen, but a side effect of my reading her is that I start to talk like her. Ask Francisco, he�ll tell you. He�ll tell you that, upon my word, my regard for Jane Austen is so great indeed, that it is entirely out of my power to quit one of her books once I have begun to read it. I know a lot of people think she's boring, but those people have either never read her or just don�t get that she is very funny.

I just took a break to go downstairs, watch the Simpsons, and eat a few of the cookies Francisco was indeed making. Mmm�they good. I want to read some more Sense and Sensibility, so I�ll wrap this up and maybe write another update this weekend. I plan to go in to work for a few hours sometime this weekend, and maybe I can write a quickie entry from there.

Love and Kisses,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify