some people call it a kaiser blade

2004-08-05

R.I.P., Henri Cartier-Bresson. You took some fantastic pictures, and I'm glad you had a good long life. I also really like saying your name out loud, under my breath, because there's something about your name that inspires a really good French accent.

Have y'all been over to 3hive? It's a place you can download free MP3s the artists Want you to download. They Want you to have the music, Mitch--who are you to disappoint them? You think you're too good for 3hive? Go download; there's some good music on there.

We watched Sling Blade last night, and I think it's going to be awhile before we stop talking like him, mmm-hmm. Francisco and I had seen it before but Boy hadn't, so we got it from Netflix because we thought he'd like it, and he did. He also likes french fried potaters, mmm.

The brownies kind of baked in the car yesterday, but not really. The were starting to get bakey around the edges, but the middle was still batter. I put them in the refrigerator overnight and this morning implemented the follow-up experiment and baked them in the oven to see if they'd bake normally. The answer is no, but apparently they're still edible. Most people are steering clear of them (since, after all, they contain eggs and were in the attic plus the car for 8 hours yesterday) but some people are unafraid. I told those people they cannot sue me if they get food poisoning; I should've had them sign waivers.

Francisco made Suicide Chicken Salad (so named because if I ever need to kill myself, I'll choose death by that chicken salad) for dinner last night, plus cornbread, coleslaw, and fresh cherries. We's eatin good. Oh, and we forced ourselves to go to the gym this morning, which has ceased to be quite so fun as it was the first week we went back, and in fact I now remember why we quit. We quit because most of the time the only aerobic-type equipment available when we arrive in the morning are treadmills, and if we're going to use a treadmill, why don't we use the one we have at home? I like ours better than theirs anyway. This morning there were recumbant bikes available as well, so we used those and then did some weightlifting. I wish there were classes in the morning, like step classes or kickboxing. Or yoga, even, for those mornings I need something soothing. I guess they don't have classes because they can't find anyone willing to show up at 5:30 in the morning to teach them; maybe that should be my next job. I could get a certification in some things and make early morning classes my teaching niche. The likelihood of this happening is less than 1%, I'd say, but you never know. There was a kid at the gym this morning--a little girl who was about 10 and who was just the most perky, happy, energetic, annoying child ever. If it had been 9 in the morning instead of 6, she probably would still have been annoying, but less so, for sure.

I've decided I'm going to start sewing again, and maybe take lessons. I've been resisting it because I don't really want to spend a lot of time making clothes for this body at its current girth, but here's the genius thing: I can make clothes for the children and babies in my life or soon to be in my life. This will be great sewing practice, plus kid and baby clothes are quick to sew (small) and I can make things like costumes (what kid doesn't like costumes?) or other clothes that are a little funny for whatever reason. I think this is one of the best ideas ever, not including those reality shows Francisco and I thought up. I will get started on that soon, but not this weekend, for I will be seeing my sister this weekend.

I'ma go home now.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify