my funny sandwich

2002-09-13

I don't have too much to say about today. Not a bad day--Fridays rarely are--but uneventful. My coworkers were all quite chatty this afternoon, which was kind of nice except my boss was among them, voicing his thoughts, and that is never pretty. Someone brought up the Miss America pageant, and listening to him on that subject was just torture. I think my ears are bleeding.

This morning I went to make my customary lunch cheese sandwich, and we were out of cheese except for a thin little slice of cheddar, about 1 inch by 2 inches in size. It was just the right size to put on a cracker. I paused for a few seconds and then stuck that piece of cheese between two slices of bread and packed it. I did this because I knew I would laugh at it when I went to eat it and was more awake, and you know, I did. After I ate this "sandwich" at lunch, I went to the Whole Foods and bought 3 kinds of cheese, some bread, a bottle of Marsala (Francisco makes a fabulous Chicken Marsala), some Dr. Bronner peppermint soap, some Kiss My Face shaving goop, fake meat, coffee, 5 packs of TofuMate, and a container of chocolate chip meringue cookies for the office. I haven't brought any treats in for a long time and thought it would be good to do so. I like meringues very much. They're super sweet and I always think I'm going to get an instant cavity when I eat one, but I think that's why I like them. I also bought a 29 cent square of Ghiradelli dark chocolate because I was craving chocolate but didn't want to buy a normal sized bar (if I had, I wouldn't have eaten just a little piece--I know myself too well). It was perfect; I recommend those little Ghiradelli squares.

Now I'm going home to Francisco and the Boy and our newly painted house. They did the second coat plus the shutters and the door today. It's just like Christmas morning! Except hotter and ... not morning.

Have a good weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify