sick-ish day

2001-11-08

Here's the thing: Apples and salted peanuts are really really good together. I ate this combination about an hour ago, and while it did not do much to quell the rampaging pms hunger, it helped a little.

I didn't update yesterday because I called in sick and therefore didn't have a computer to update with (Francisco takes the laptop to work). And you know, I really and truly didn't feel well; the calling in sick wasn't a fib. Tuesday night I was convinced I was getting a cold, but yesterday it didn't really materialize. But oh, I loved staying home yesterday. I did some knitting, which is such a good, cozy activity, and I organized a few things and made bread and a soup for dinner. I also read a little of a book I checked out of the library this weekend; I can't remember the exact title, but it's about 'hot viruses'; a subject which I Love. The book is actually not written very well--it jumps around too much and gives too much detail about unimportant things--but I've still managed to learn some things so far. For instance, I learned that Hantavirus is actually a class of viruses instead of the name of one particular virus. The strain of hantavirus that killed so many people on the Navajo reservation in New Mexico a decade or so ago was given the name, No Name virus. This was after a fight with the Navajo tribal leaders over the name, because traditionally viruses are named after places they occur ('Hantavirus' is named for the Hantaan River, in Korea), and the tribal leaders didn't want a virus to be named after any of their sacred places. Which I can understand. So yeah, I've learned some new things and I will continue reading the book, but the writing is a little sleepy-making.

Last night the Pupipanu Tribe (my little family, you know) watched some television and read, and then Boy was tucked into bed and Francisco and I settled in to watch The West Wing. I cannot say enough about what a great show that is. I even think--no disrespect for the Simpsons, Survivor, or Trading Spaces (my other favorites) intended--that it is the best show on television. Wow! It is so good. After WW, Francisco and I watched South Park, and that was pretty funny, as usual. I have such fondness for South Park--it is such enjoyable naughtiness.

Here are some foods I am craving right at this moment:

Spicy Hot V-8, or better, Snap-E-Tom tomato juice

Chinese or Thai hot and sour soup

A black bean burrito from Baja Fresh (this one isn't going to happen--there are no Baja Fresh restaurants in my neck o' the woods)

A Father Nature falafel wrap (not possible--no Father Natures here) with lots and lots of tahini sauce. I love tahini sauce.

Indian Food. Not very specific, I know, but that's because it's All good.

I'm a little surprised that I'm not craving anything sugary, since I'm pretty much a sugar whore. I've decided to kick the sugar habit, so I thought I would crave it more today, but no. Huzzah!

I've pretty much run out of things to say now, and I'm a little distracted because I think my boss is going to ream me out for something that is his own fault, and I'm marshalling my resources to defend myself. In a nutshell, I followed his instructions on something that I believe has now come back to bite him in the ass, and I think he's going to blame me when all I did was do exactly what he told me to do. Bad sentence, I know, but any more information than that would just be boring. I am waiting for him to call me (he's out of town) and I am about 65% sure that he will try to place blame on me. I plan to tell him, calmly, "I just told him what you told me to tell him. It is not my fault; I do not accept your reprimand." We'll see what happens--maybe he won't try and blame me.

Survivor tonight!! I cannot Wait to see what happens, though frankly when I look forward to something with this degree of intensity, it can't help but be disappointing. But maybe not!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify