I'm a puppy magnet

2002-09-30

Our vegan neighbors with the puppy have 3 kids; the youngest is 3 years old. We see a lot of the kids nowadays, because every time they take their adorable puppy outside, it runs straight over to our house and starts scratching our newly-painted front door. That last thing is getting tiresome, by the way, because though I love that puppy and she is the cutest object on the planet, we paid good money to get the house painted and I don't really want the puppy's sharp little nails wrecking the door. Anyway, the reason I brought this up is because yesterday, several times, the vegan kids and the puppy were in our yard, and several times the youngest (a girl) called me Mr. Eva. She doesn't seem to get the difference yet between Mr. and Miss, and I'm so glad because I really love it when she calls me Mr. Eva. It's a total crackup.

Did you happen to catch any of the Miss Venezuela pageant last night on the Spanish channel? We watched about 20 minutes and it was fascinating. It was like the Miss America pageant but with subtle differences. I'll tell you, pageants creep me out a little. It's like these women are being grown somewhere, in pods, and their only function is to participate in beauty contests. They are freakishly tall and they all have the same breasts. Beauty contests (and let's not mince words, people; that is absolutely what they are, talent competitions notwithstanding) are bizarre anyway--why should people get awards for their genes? Someone needs to give me an award for having a birthmark on the bottom of my right foot--it would make as much sense as getting one for being 6 feet tall and chesty, with long hair and nice skin. The Miss Venezuela contestants were Beautiful women--I want to give credit where credit is due--but watching that little bit of it confirmed to me that priorities are mixed up everywhere. And I don't know why I went on about this for so long, because honestly? Beauty pageants are totally irrelevant and I don't care.

Yesterday Francisco spent several hours making a large batch of Beef Bourguignon (I looked up the spelling), and it is So Good. He took some to a potluck yesterday evening and I guess it was a big hit. Boy and I were slated to go to the potluck, but Boy had a fever in the early afternoon, so he and I decided to stay home. We had dinner and watched Paper Moon, one of our favorites, and it was very nice. I love that movie. My dad took me to see that movie when I was 7 or 8, and that was the only time just he and I went to the movies. I have fond memories of that. We saw a double feature--Paper Moon and the first Bad News Bears. I wanted to Be Tatum O'Neal. I'm really happy Boy loves the movie too; it can be a family tradition.

Saturday night we went to some friends' house and they fed us a great dinner, complete with pre-dinner martinis (with olives stuffed with garlic cloves) and a fantastic dessert wine served with the homemade apple crisp. We also had salad and bread and Thai noodle salad, in between the martinis and dessert. A very nice night; it'd been awhile since we'd seen them.

I am completely infected with Craft Fever lately; it's sick. I have a few more home projects to do, but I'm already thinking ahead to Christmas. I really love giving stuff I've made, as long as it turned out well and will be useful to/enjoyed by the recipient. I think this is going to be a fun Christmas. If anyone else is feeling crafty, I would recommend this site. The Glitter discussion boards how-to section is particularly helpful and inspiring. An online friend recommended the site to me awhile back, and it's great; I love it. Yesterday I ordered a beginners beading book online, and it will arrive in a couple of weeks (on back order). I have a really great bead catalog waiting in the wings, plus there are a couple of good bead stores in the area, and I think I will be able to make some Gorgeous stuff. Unless I totally suck at beading, in which case I won't.

This morning, for the first time in 3 weeks, I got up and used the treadmill. I didn't use the treadmill at all while I was sick, and I haven't been feeling very energetic since the virus started. I think I'm pretty well over it now, so I'm back at the exercise. I used little hand weights while on the treadmill this morning, and they added a whole new level of agony. But it's good for me, so I'll keep on with it.

Francisco took Boy to the doctor this morning, because he's continuing to have the low-grade fevers and the sore throat. They did a quick strep test, and it was negative. They think it's the same virus I had (though he doesn't have the cough I had and he hasn't lost his voice), but if he's not better in a week or so, they want him back to check for Epstein Barr virus (I guess they think he has the mono?). Hopefully he will be well soon; it's hard on him to not be allowed to play with the vegans. Not going to school, though, isn't causing him any pain.

In closing, why are so many people fascinated with contortionists? This diary gets at Least 8 google searchers per day who are looking for contortionists or naked contortionists or midget contortionists--you name it, people are pairing it with contortionists. What's up with this? Is there some kind of contortionist frenzy sweeping the nation? Because if there is, I don't know about it.

Love,

Mr. Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify