inter-primate loving

2003-01-16

Dear Internet,

You have grown tiresome. Be more amusing!

Sincerely,

Tattoobelly

When I was in the fourth grade (or maybe it was fifth), the kids at my elementary school were forced to put on a "concert", the theme of which was 'The Roaring Twenties'. My mom made me a kickass flapper costume, the best of anyone's, and we sang quite a lot of songs from the 20's. Some students were chosen to dance The Charleston, also, while the majority of kids sang The Charleston. I was not among the dancers, though I desperately wanted to be. "What's your point?", you may be asking. Well, I'll tell you. I was 9 or 10 years old when this concert took place, and I STILL REMEMBER ALL OF THE SONGS. THEY HAUNT ME. There is a particular song that has been haunting me lately, and it goes a little something [meaning, Exactly] like this:

[ahem]

Abba Dabba Dabba Dabba

Abba Dabba Dabba

Said the Monkey to the Chimp.

Abba Dabba Dabba Dabba

Abba Dabba Dabba

Said the Chimpy to the Monk.

All night long they chatter away

All day long they're happy and gay,

Singin' and swingin' in their honky tonky way.

Abba Dabba Dabba Dabba

Abba Dabba Dabba

Means, Monk I love but you.

Abba Dabba Dabba

In Monkey talk means

Chimp, I love you too.

Then the big baboon, one night in June,

He married them, and very soon,

They went upon their abba dabba honeymoon.

I'm not sure why this song has stuck with me all these years, or why it's recently chosen to play on continuous loop in my brain, but I'm hoping that writing it down and torturing you with it will break the cycle. An exorcism of sorts. Here's hoping it works.

Ouch! I'm eating wasabi peas and they're hurting my nose. Mmm....burnalicious.

A little while ago I had the opportunity to fax a photocopy of my arm and the alligator sticking out of my sleeve to Miles, for his (hopeful) enjoyment. He had a bad day yesterday; I figured he could use a little alligator action, and it was really funny to me to send that fax. I don't know about him, but *I'm* cheered up.

So I'm feeling worried about the snow we're supposed to get tonight, because if it snows more than a little bit, everything's going to shut down, and I don't want the finishing of my tattoo (tomorrow night) to get cancelled. I've been looking forward to it, and tomorrow is the perfect time to get it done, what with me getting Monday off. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for no snow.

Very hungry today.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify