the horn of plenty

2002-11-23

Just a brief note to say I was just at the grocery store, getting stuff for tonight's dinner, and wow! It is Brutal. Very crowded. Everyone is so stressed out (I assume most people are shopping for Thanksgiving stuff) and couples are bitching at each other like crazy. I kept passing this one older couple in particular and every time I saw them the wife was carping at her husband. I expect they got a divorce in the frozen foods aisle, and they should. Because I bet that man has spent a lot of years as the brunt of his wife's stress, and that's just not right.

I'm feeling a tiny bit stressed today myself, because I still have a bit of cleaning to do, and food preparation, and Plus I have to make myself presentable. I didn't shower this morning before the grocery store, since I figure I'll get kind of sweaty when I vacuum and etc, and dudes? I look like a Before picture. So I've got a bit of work there too.

Talked to Francisco tonight--it was a grueling journey (mostly once he landed in Toronto, because transportation to the hotel took 2 hours for some unknown reason) but he's there and is hopefully having a good time. He went out with friends last night for dinner, and I'm sure they had fun. He'll call tonight and I can find out what he's up to.

Boy is still grounded so he's in the house all day, and that's too bad because it's a gorgeous day today, and I wish I could send him out to play. But I have to be tough and stick to the punishment.

One more thing: Early last Monday morning we were awakened by someone's horn going off, continuously, and it lasted 2 hours. Francisco got up when it first happened, to make sure it wasn't ours, and he thought it was the neighbor's boyfriend's truck. But last night it went off again, at about 11:30, and the boyfriend wasn't around, so it couldn't have been his truck. I opened the door and figured out it was our other neighbor's nonoperational Jeep (it needs some expensive repair, so it's been sitting in the culdesac for 3 years). It went for about 45 minutes before it stopped. I think someone disconnected it, because I heard someone out there after the noise stopped. Thank god! It is rather hard to ignore. And it freaks the cats out, almost as much as the vacuum cleaner.

Speaking of which, I've got to go.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify