I have a cunning plan...

2001-12-18

Boy has a new friend in the neighborhood. We'll call this friend Jimmy. Jimmy was playing with Boy on Saturday, and the kids got hungry so Francisco made them lunch. He made them potstickers, a fairly common food in our family. Jimmy didn't know what to make of the lunch. He ate most of the potstickers he was served, but he asked Boy, in an aggrieved tone, "Don't you eat ravioli?!" I guess Chef Boyardee visits Jimmy's house on a regular basis. Boy is now going around asking us, frequently, "Don't you eat ravioli?!" He's getting a lot of mileage out of that.

When Francisco dyed my hair on Sunday, I had him dye it back to brown, because I have a plan. I plan to get my hair back to its natural brown (meaning to let it go until all the dyed hair has been cut off), and then I am going to grow it out. It's been several years since I had longer hair, and I am going to give it a whirl again. But as anyone knows who has ever let their hair grow out from short, it is a painful process. There will be many, many bad hair days and much weeping and gnashing of teeth, but I'm going to go ahead with it, and I will prevail. I figure also that I can post the bad hair day pictures in my diary so that you can laugh and see what I have to contend with, since we are finally going to get a digital camera this Christmas. Francisco and I never buy each other Christmas gifts, because we prefer to buy something spendy that we both want. I would give you examples of this except I can't think of any right now. Anywho, look for a lot more pictures in my diary after the holiday season.

I am chock full of plans. For example, I have a really good health and fitness plan for myself. I will start it directly after the holidays, because there is no point in starting beforehand, especially since I'll be in Seattle for a week and will be out of my little routine. Weeks one and two: Force myself to get 8 hours of sleep, even when I really want to stay up later. Start back at the gym and go M, W, F, Sa mornings, plus Tuesday evening for kickboxing. Weeks three and four, continue the sleeping and gym thing, and add in quit caffeine, increase fiber grams consumed per day to at least 20, and cut back dessert and alcoholic drinks to one per week, each. Weeks five and six: Continue all previous things, plus restrict calories to 1500 per day. In the past I have done 1200 per day, but I find that too difficult now. Lather, rinse, repeat. So that is my plan-to institute a lot of discipline, but to do it gradually and make it stick. I am looking forward to it!

Last night I measured that damn blanket and it is growing So Slowly. I still have almost 6 inches to go, which basically means about 20 rows, and they're long rows. Regrettably I need to cut this update short so that I can go home and be a slave to The Blanket. Also, the woman who is going to take care of our cats is coming over tonight to get a key and the lay of the land, so there's another reason to get home early. I will miss my girls so much, and I worry about Esther; I worry she will have asthma attacks while we're gone, and that's a big problem because she runs and hides when strangers try to give her a prednesone pill. We know this from past experience. I've been pilling her every day, in an attempt to give her some advance asthma protection for while we're gone, but I still worry there will be a problem. I will try not to worry, because that won't help anything, but it won't be easy.

I need to quit Tetris cold turkey, because in my head I keep visualizing the little pieces floating down the screen, and it is bugging me. Has anyone else had this problem? Tetris-aholics, unite!

Gotta run-take care,

Love,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify