pet psychic

2002-09-24

I came to work at 1:00 today, because The Boy has been feeling tired and draggy the past couple of days, and this morning he said his throat hurt really bad. Francisco and I felt it was only fair to let him stay home today, since we get to stay home when we're sick, so I stayed with him until Francisco got home from his morning class. While I was at home I took the opportunity to do most of the stuff on my house cleaning/improvement list, and can I say something about spray paint? Krylon is about 100 times better than 'American Heritage'. American Heritage sucks! I had both kinds because I bought the Krylon first and then thought I needed another can but couldn't remember at the store what kind I had at home. Get Krylon if you need spray paint--it costs more but is well worth it. Boy is already feeling better today, so I think he's got a cold. You know how with a cold usually your throat feels worst when you just wake up? Or at least that's the case for me. Francisco is taking him to the dentist for a cleaning this afternoon, and after I put the screws to Francisco yesterday he made an appointment for himself to get a cleaning, this coming Thursday. It's been way too long since he's been to the dentist, and we have dental insurance so he should take advantage of that. I think it's nice that our little family will all have freshly clean teeth within the same week, but I'm a sap like that.

Something I've been meaning to mention is what a complete freak I am while driving, and if you think "complete freak" is an exaggeration, please hold. The freeway I take to work and back has a 55 mph zone through the more populous areas, and 65mph through the less populous areas. When I drive to work I stay in the 65 zone, and I always drive at 72 mph. I set the cruise control so that I do not exceed 72, because if you get a ticket going more than 75 in NC, the fine is doubled and you get extra points on your license. Francisco learned that the hard way a few years ago. It's not that freakish that I drive at 72, rigidly, on the way to work, but on the way home I take a different route and am in the 55 zone for several miles. In the 55 zone I drive at 62--cruise control. People zoom past me like I'm parked, because they're carefree renegades or something, and it annoys me, but I just wait. Because the second I pass the sign that says 65mph, I speed up like crazy to the habitual 72mph, and hopefully this inconveniences people who are trying to zoom around me and take the exit 1/4 mile past the 65mph sign. And you know, the fact that I DO this anal-retentive cruise control-monitored driving is not all that freakish. What's freakish is the enormous Satisfaction I get from doing it. I'm telling you, I love driving the speed limit plus 7. I especially love speeding up when I pass the 65 mph sign, and I love feeling like I have more driving self-control than the people who drive 85mph no matter what zone they're in. But hang on, because I'm not done yet. I also monitor the cars around me to see where they go. I try to guess if the person in front of me will turn at the next street, and if I think they'll turn and they turn, well that just reinforces me doing it. I do the same with the cars behind me and to the side of me. I will also try to guess if the person in front and to the side of me will get into my lane and cut me off, and when that happens I feel a righteous resignation. Honestly, I take no joy in being a freak. I'm not relating this ridiculous driving behavior to point out what a funny weirdo I am--I am relating it as fact, recorded for posterity. I wasn't always this way--when I lived in the LA area I drove as fast and crazy as the next person. It was only when we moved out here that I started with the monitoring and the cruise controlling and the self-righteous satisfaction. But you know, if you were in the car with me you'd never know I was a freak--I keep this stuff to myself when others are present. I don't stop Doing it; it's just something I do secretly. Which makes me wonder if lots of other people do this kind of thing secretly, because it's hardly the kind of thing you'd want other people knowing, unless you're recording it for posterity.

I also forgot to say last Friday that Thursday night Francisco made Thai food to go with Survivor Thailand. I think we'll have Thai food every Thursday while Survivor is on, or at least until we get tired of it. It's fun to have an ongoing theme. Although something about the Thai food we had last week disagreed with Francisco and kept him running to the bathroom all the next day. So maybe the theme won't last very long at all.

Last night for the first time ever I watched Pet Psychic. I've been meaning to watch it because my sister loves it for the kitsch value and has begged me to watch it. Did you by any chance see it? And if yes, did you see the part with the llama? The Pet Psychic "talked" to a llama and deduced that the llama exhibited the bad behavior of trying to take people's hats and scarves because he wanted them for himself. She made the llama's person promise to get a hat custom-made for the llama, and then she gave him her scarf. She tied it around him and he looked so proud and pleased. But the thing is, llamas Always look proud and pleased--it's their only facial expression! They had lots of footage of him looking regal in his scarf, and that's when I got hooked. They also showed the llama's man trying to take the scarf off the llama after the pet psychic was done talking to him, and the llama got really pissed and spat on the man twice so he put the scarf back on. See, I have no idea if the pet psychic is actually talking to the animals. My skeptical nature is inclined to say no, but on the other hand, who's to say? I think it's not impossible that someone could communicate with animals, so maybe she's really talking to them. There's no way to know for sure, but I do know I'll watch the show again. I'll be hoping for more llamas, for sure.

Gotta work,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify