the water rationing gets personal

2002-08-24

I forgot to say this yesterday, but Thursday night we had dinner out, and Boy had soup that came with a hard sourdough roll. He tried to break into it, but he's too weak, so he handed it to me and said, "Can you tear this for me, Man Hands?". What. A smartass.

Did I mention I have freakishly large hands?

My Proactiv arrived yesterday and I used it last night. I'm not crazy about the smell but it's not too bad. My skin doesn't break out constantly, but I want to try this stuff to prevent the Rosacea from flaring up. The numbness and tingling in my hands and wrists has already diminshed quite a lot. I thought it would take longer than that for the Metrogel to start purging from my body, but apparently not. I'm sure it'll take awhile for the hands to return to normal, but they're on their way, thank god.

Fascinating, no?

It's after 2:00 and I'm still in my pajamas. For shame! I'm going to shower and get dressed after I post this, and then we're going to TJ Maxx and JoAnn's Fabrics. I will return the weird pajama pants at TJM and get more orange and white fabric at JoAnn's. I lead a very full life.

Also, I finally, Finally finished Shereen's scarf this morning. It will be in the mail on Monday and she can commence wearing it immediately. If she's Crazy! Because isn't it really damn hot everywhere right now? I imagine she'll either save it for when it gets cold or be repulsed by it and give it to the homeless. Either way is fine by me.

My town is now saying we're going to have to start using bottled water for cooking and drinking, and flush the toilet less and take short showers. They also said we can't use dishwashers, but I've always thought dishwashers were more efficient, water-wise, than washing by hand. So I think we'll have to disregard the dishwasher thing. The toilet flushing restriction grosses me out, but I'll see what I can do. At this point I'm starting to hope for a hurricane, even though it would obviously do damage to buildings and etc. It would seem a good hurricane is the only way out of this drought.

Last night we had pork chops and I was careful to choose a small one, but it didn't matter. I think I set a digestion record, actually. Only 30 minutes from pork intake to intestinal distress. Not that I should be telling the world this, clearly. It's just so weird to me that I have this pork sensitivity, because I didn't used to.

And with that I shall leave you, my petite chitterlings. Enjoy your weekends.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify