that pink parasol joke Killed in dreamland

2002-05-29

This was one muy hectic day. I got to work 1 1/2 hours late because I was up so late last night. And why was I up so late? Those damn carpet installing guys. They were at the house when I got home, they were at the house when I left to get Subway sandwiches for dinner and when I got back from Subway. Matter of fact, they were at the house until 10:00 pm. When they left Francisco put Boy's bed together so he could sleep in it, and then we stayed up for a little while because we needed to unwind. Then when we went to bed, it took me forever to fall asleep. So I slept too late and had to call in this morning to say I would be late. It was actually no biggie except that it cut valuable time off my day, and right now I don't have enough time as it is. I love the new carpet--it is lovely and makes me feel like I have a whole new house. I'm very happy we got it, but it's going to take awhile to clean up from the installation. Dust EVerywhere. The place was a total shambles last night, but my beloved Francisco did a lot today to make it better. Still, lots more to be done.

But can I just say that the carpet guys were a bit of a trial? They brought a radio with them and played truly heinous music at a high volume--that was actually the most trying thing about them They were very loud but I think that's just how carpet installation is. A strange thing, when I got home I noticed that our toilet tank lid, in the downstairs bathroom, was missing, and it did not reappear until shortly before they were going to leave. What they were using the toilet tank lid for, I do not know, but I sure wonder. I was going to say one other thing about them, but I forget now. I'm sure it was witty and insightful.

This morning when I woke up I was laughing. I am so funny in my dreams--let me tell you how funny I was this morning. Though I have to warn you, it's not as funny if you're awake. For several reasons with which I will not bore you, I wanted to make a man laugh, so when I saw him going into a concert with two friends who had a small child, I saw my chance. They were lugging a ton of kid stuff into the concert, including a playpen the size of a small above-ground swimming pool. The man was carrying, to help them out, a child's pink parasol. He went in first and I was there and the parents were trying to get the playpen through the doors. I pretended to be a security guard and said to him, "I'm sorry, sir, you can't bring that in here", and pointed to the parasol. He was confused so I started explaining my joke to him (which was just that I was objecting to the parasol when the other people were bringing in such a huge thing) and I was just totally beside myself with my own amazing humor, and he didn't even laugh. It didn't phase me; I kept laughing and then I woke up. For about half an hour this morning I continued to think that dream joke was funny, and then I really woke up and realized it wasn't all that. If only I could always be actually as funny as I am in my dreams.

Yesterday I talked about my new walk around Paris pants, and I wore them all day yesterday and only at about 9:00 pm did I notice they have little slits up the back of the bottom of the legs. They are capri pants and sewn so the seams are up the back of the legs, and they have slits. So yeah, I bought the pants and wore them for 12 + hours, and Then I notice the slit feature. I like the slits okay; I'm just saying.

This morning I was really congested so I took some Sudafed and I noticed it's kind of an appetite suppressant. I wasn't hungry all day until about 4:00, at which point I ate some lunch. You can see I'm not following the Body For Life this week. I've decided to take a break until we're back from Europe and I can give it 100%. I'm looking forward to that--I've decided to use the supplements and see if that makes a difference. It's going to be really good, I think.

This is all my brain can do right now. Sorry. I'm feeling a little scattered and also I need to fold some laundry. I can hardly wait to sleep tonight; I really need some good sleep.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify