pain for his birthday

2002-05-19

First of all, I need to say, empirically, that you don't need to watch Oprah or read self-help books ever again, assuming you did those things in the first place. All you really need is Catie. I swear, I get so much out of her diary. She's one of my favorite favorites.

Second, today is Francisco's birthday. I love his birthday--I love it much more than he does. He doesn't like me to make a fuss about his b-day and he makes it tough for me to buy him gifts. This year, though, I got him. I offered him a gift he could not refuse: I am buying him another tattoo. He's been wanting one for awhile, so what I did yesterday was apply some gentle pressure to him to choose his design. Once that was finished (he chose a NW Native American salmon) I encouraged him to go see Glenn the tattoo guy and get an appointment. Boy and I accompanied him, and mission accomplished. Francisco's going to get the tattoo at 5:00 on Tuesday evening--it should take 2-3 hours to complete and will be gorgeous. Also while we were there we had a nice conversation with Robert the piercer about the town in which he grew up and in which Francisco has been teaching for the past couple of semesters. It was an excellent visit all around, and now I am jealous and want to get a new tattoo also. I don't want to rush into choosing a design, but my problem is that there are so Many things I might like to get that I'm having trouble choosing just one. Must...stop...being wishy-washy.

Just so you know, it's past 5:00 and I'm still in my pajamas. I do that sometimes on Sundays. When I've finished updating, I'm going to go shower and put on fresh pajamas. Why actually get dressed when I'll just be going to bed in 5 hours anyway?

Friday afternoon Francisco and Boy helped me pick out new frames, and everything up to the part where I had to pay was great. The frames are cool and the science of lense making has progressed so that my new lenses will be "much thinner", according to the woman who helped me. So yeah, it was great until she told me the glasses were going to cost, with the 20% discount I get as an employee of the place that employs me, $485. That is WITH the discount. Have you Ever heard of glasses costing so much? Because I haven't. It all has to do with my very high prescription--the lenses themselves were $350. I could've gotten cheaper frames, but did I mention that they're cool? I'm fortunate to be able to afford the glasses right now, but what do low income blind-ish people do when they need glasses? It makes me worry.

After the glasses thing, I got my hair cut while Francisco and Boy visited nearby stores. I met up with them in Barnes and Noble, where I purchased and drank a double tall caramel mocha before they showed up. It was kind of lovely, actually, walking around looking at things while sipping a life-giving beverage. After the Barnes, we rented a couple of movies and got some movie nibblys. We got Shane and Inherit the Wind. We watched Shane on Friday night and Inherit the Wind last night. Both were good but I didn't think Shane was quite as good as I'd heard. It was good, but just not the piece of genius I was expecting.

Francisco went to the dump awhile ago, and when he comes home we will have some dinner and some of the pie I made him as his birthday treat. I would gladly have made him a cake but he pointed out that a cake would be Large and hang around for several days, needing to be eaten. He requested a pie instead and selected coconut pecan. I made it a few hours ago, and with the small amount of excess pie crust, also made a pie-let. This is dough rolled out, filled with brown sugar and cinnamon, and then folded and sealed and fried (without oil) in a pan until golden brown. Francisco ate that at about 2:00, just after speaking with his sister on the phone. They crack me up--every conversation they have turns into them talking/griping about their mom and worrying about what will become of her if she doesn't get her ass into gear and get a job. His sister called to say Happy Birthday, and the call ended with them talking about how their mom needs a 5-year plan.

So here's my dilemma: Tonight is the Survivor finale AND the X-Files finale. I can't record both of them so I figure I will record X-Files and watch Survivor, but with that plan I'll have to stay up later than I want, because the Survivor thing is on until, like, 11. Eh, probably that last hour is crap anyway; I guess I'll skip it.

In closing [I'm sorry this entry has been so disjointed--I've been thinking about how I really need to vacuum and mop and dust, and thinking that I should hurry this up and blah blah blah, basically I'm distracted], let me just say that my eye seems to have turned the corner now, so to speak. It's still not totally healed but I can tell it's on its way for sure. This pleases me.

Love,

E

PS I changed the sheets on our bed earlier and then sprayed lavender water on them. Francisco walked through the bedroom and said it smelled like a $3 hooker. Men sometimes don't appreciate the little things in life, yes?

PPS And in the interest of truth and honesty, when I said that we were going to have dinner and pie I really meant that we are going to have pie FOR dinner. Perhaps I should be ashamed but I'm not.

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify