the Most painful throat

2002-05-22

Just a real quick entry today, if I may. I feel horrible. This cold is really really bad and my throat is killing me. This morning when I got up my whole head and body ached, but fortunately Francisco was there to say, "swallow these", while handing me Aleve and Sudafed. I went back to bed for an hour and a half, and while I was asleep the meds worked their magic. I had to come to work today, because I wasn't in yesterday and I just can't miss another day. I did come in in the morning yesterday to collect files to read at home, so at least I got something done, but it wasn't enough. I believe stress is behind my getting such a bad cold, because Boy, who infected me, wasn't this sick, and what stress does he have? Not much, I'll tell you.

Francisco got his new tattoo yesterday and it is beautiful! Parts of the tattoo were very painful but parts were okay (per his report), and he likes the Glenn a lot. All around a pretty good experience, and if I weren't feeling so rotten I would be clamoring to get another tattoo of my own. I will wait.

I was thinking this morning about dogs. How is it they've managed to survive Natural Selection? The reason I was thinking about it is because a friend told me a couple days ago that one of her dogs got into a jar of putty (they are fixing up a bathroom and the fix requires putty) and ate the whole thing. They took the dog to an emergency vet and apparently the putty was not poisonous so they were instructed to keep an eye on the dog to see if she would poop the putty out. The dog barfed the putty instead and should be okay, but this is merely one example of the crazy things dogs eat. You know--you've heard the stories too. So how is it an animal as stupid as the dog has managed to not drive itself into extinction? Clearly the only thing standing between dogs and extinction is the care and attention of people, but how is that doing the dog any favors? Don't get me wrong--I like dogs--but dude. They would have to be smarter if we weren't helping them.

My brain is so foggy right now, I have no idea if any of this makes sense. I'm all hopped up on decongestants.

Gotta go,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify