breath that could curl your hair

2003-10-07

My day yesterday consisted of taking ibuprofen and laying on this gel pad thing you can heat in the microwave (or can freeze, for sprains--I was heating it). I hurt my back a couple of weeks ago and it's gotten worse recently, hence the babying of it. I really like that gel pack thing and recommend it, but something in the instructions left me shaking my head. After the directions about heating it, the instructions note that the gel inside the pack is non-toxic, but if the thing should spring a leak, Do Not Eat the Gel. This makes me wonder what contingency the manufacturers are anticipating, and whether your average gel pack consumer is really that stupid. "I know the instructions said not to eat it, but it just looked so good." Must everything in life pander to the lowest common denominator??

I think the ibuprofen and gel pack thing helped a bit, but I'm not positive about that yet--I have to see what the back does as the day progresses. After talking to a coworker this morning, I think what the back needs is some muscle relaxants. I'll have to make a trip to the doctor this week if things do not improve. Still haven't gone in for the stomach thing (potential ulcer) because it stopped hurting, so maybe I could make it a back/stomach combo doctor visit, if I'm going anyway. We have the Merck manual of sicknesses (unsure as to the real title) and it says that the symptoms of peptic ulcers come and go, so I still think it's entirely possible I have one, but I don't want to be a big baby or a hypochondriac about it. I DO want some damn muscle relaxants though. I think they would fix the back right up.

I am at work and am fiercely chewing minty sugarless gum because for lunch I had an open-faced turkey sandwich, piled high with pickled onions. I pickled the onions on Sunday and they are damn good. And easy! Want the recipe? Tough, you're getting it anyway:

Thinly slice 4 medium or 3 large onions while you put a kettle of water on to boil. When onions are sliced put them in a colander in the sink and slowly pour the whole kettle of boiling water over them. Mix the marinade in a container--1 cup water, 1 cup cider vinegar, approx 3 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp black peppercorns. Stick the onions in there and put the container in the refrigerator. Might want to stir once or twice in the next few hours, but otherwise, that's it. In a day or so you have perfect pickled onions for sandwiches and salads and whatnot. Keep mints or minty gum on hand for occasions such as work when you might have to talk to people after eating the onions. Because, yikes.

I know I have things to tell (nothing too exciting) but I can't remember any of them right now, and I gots to get going. Talk to you tomorrow,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify